Five Frugal Things 6/16/2016

Costco is calling us once again . . .

  1. Although we won’t be doing our monthly big shop until next week, we’ve already made our list, so that we have plenty of time to get it right, and not forget anything (like we did last month)ย or buy something we really don’t need.
  2. I had a moment of panic on Monday evening when Brett couldn’t get the newly-filled propane tank for our barbecue to open (the valve on the tank was broken), and we couldn’t grill the chicken and vegetable skewers I had made. All of us were feeling very hot, tired and frazzled, and my first thought was that we were just going to have to go out for dinner because there were no leftovers and we had nothing ready for back up. But, I took a deep breath, went through the fridge and pantry to see what I could find, and the girls ended up making the pad thai that was scheduled for Tuesday. We enjoyed the chicken skewers the next day.
  3. Rather than throw away a pair of linen slacks in otherwise good condition because the elastic in the waistband is shot (and not able to be repaired – I tried), I decided to pin the waistband to fit with a safety pin so I can hopefully squeeze several more weeks of wear from them.
  4. We did “everyday frugal” all week: dried the laundry in the sun, didn’t throw away any food, cooked and ate all our meals at home, drank filtered tap water, made homemade sun tea, washed out and reused plastic bags, recycled, etc.
  5. We put $23.76 in the change/$1 bill jar this week: $9.41 was left over from filling the barbecue’s propane tank, $3.35 from recycling, and we had $11.00 left over from the farmers’ market.

What frugal wins did you have this week?

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

9 thoughts on “Five Frugal Things 6/16/2016

  1. Snoskred says:

    We have been using a spreadsheet for shopping for several months now. It is organised in the order things appear in the store. I will be doing a post about this soon on my blog, it has been an awesome development. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I will be looking forward to your post!

      We start a list as soon as we run out of something or are about to run out of something, and then add to it until a couple of days before we shop when we go over the list with a fine-toothed comb and remove things we don’t need. It’s always worked to keep us within budget, at least until last month.

      Like

  2. Hawaii Planner says:

    We’ve done our normal array of frugal things, plus I sold $35 worth of old yard stuff (previous owners), used gift cards for some summer fun with the kids, brought wine out to dinner for M’s big birthday, and will pack a lunch for the airport + take an Uber today vs parking.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      You are always a frugal superstar. Do you buy gift cards, or are they gifts or ??? I rarely if ever use them – we give them to the girls at Christmas, but that’s about it.

      Like

  3. Dawn Poff says:

    Cut the WHOLE ELASTIC AREA off the pants, add a tube of fabric the width of the cut off part, insert elastic in the tube the length needed= NEW PANTS! Yay! I’ve done that many times and it works wonderfully.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Sigh . . . Exactly what I would do if I had a sewing machine. But I don’t and don’t want to hand sew on a new waistband. So, a safety pin it will be for the time being.

      Like

      • mara says:

        I’ve been known to cut a couple holes the distance apart I need to hold the pants up, then use a ribbon or cord as a make-shift belt, like you might see on men’s swimming trunks. If I was fancy I’d grommet the holes but I’m not fancy. And I’ve used binder clips in a pinch:)

        Like

  4. Natalie says:

    I did my “every day frugal”. One frugal win was that I successfully resisted the temptation to buy new clothes that I saw and liked this week. They were on a 40% off flash sale so the price was very attractive. I decided to put what I’d have spent on the clothes towards my travel (more experiences and less material things). Not buying sometimes is a win ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Yes, not buying something is indeed a frugal win. I am not buying anything either for the time being, although both Brett and I will need a few things before next year’s travel.

      Like

Leave a Reply

