Sunday Afternoon 6/4/2017

Summer and hot weather means mojitos – we make ours with agave syrup (hence the light brown color)

Summer vacation! Other than WenYu going to work almost every day (and sometimes to different jobs on the same day) it’s been nice not to have to dance to our usual crazy schedule. It’s been hot, hot, hot though and we’re thinking that this summer is going to be a doozy when it comes to the weather.

YaYu leaves later this afternoon for a week on Oahu, to attend the orientation for her upcoming trip to China which is coming up in just a couple of weeks. She will be staying with a family in Honolulu whose daughter will be also be going on the trip. The students will all be learning some basic Mandarin (YaYu could probably teach the class), learning more about their trip and the places they’re going, and will each make a presentation on some aspect of Chinese culture. YaYu is presenting on Chinese folktales – she created an amazing pop-up book as her visual aid.

At the beginning of the year I signed up for a Hawaiian Airlines credit card. I’m a Hawaiian Miles member, and the offer I signed up for was “spend $1000 in the first 90 days and receive 50,000 bonus miles” which we accomplished on our trip to Japan in March (and have paid in full). When I checked my account in early May though there were no miles awarded. I called and was told, “no you had to spend $2000.” When I informed them that was not the offer I signed up under, I was told they would look into it and I would hear back in ten days. Nope. I called again on May 28 and was told I had been given a case number, but that they were “still looking into it.” I wrote the bank a letter this week and enclosed a copy of their cardmember agreement where it clearly states “spend $1000 and receive 50,000 miles.” A copy of the letter also went to Hawaiian Airlines customer service. It’s all very frustrating, but hopefully the letter will do the trick. Brett and I have received numerous solicitations over the years for a Hawaiian card, and every single one has been “spend $1000 and receive 50,000 miles.” Shoot, even their offer to those not already enrolled in Hawaiian Miles is “spend $1000 and receive 35,000 miles.” Once again, fingers are crossed, but I absolutely HATE dealing with stuff like this.

This afternoon I am:

  • Reading: American Heiress: The Wild Saga of the Kidnapping, Crimes and Trial of Patty Hearst has turned out to be a pretty terrific read, a real page-turner even though lots is stuff I already knew and still remember. The story is very well-written and the details fascinating, especially when he digs into the personalities, and the culture (counter and otherwise) of the time. I’m very glad I downloaded it, even though it wasn’t what I initially wanted to read.
  • Watching: Brett and I started watching Fargo this week on Hulu – wow! SO good. We are purposefully pacing ourselves even though we want to binge watch so that it lasts for a while. We’re still going through withdrawal from Better Call Saul and wish it wasn’t go to be so long until new episodes become available. I’m watching Top Chef while I work on Swagbucks at night – lots of drama!
  • Listening to: Brett is out for his daily walk – it’s cooler than usual, and has been raining off and on, but he’s on his way home now because YaYu has to go into work. The girls are chatting back in their room, but the washing machine is going so that YaYu will have clean clothes in time to pack. WenYu is lamenting that she has to go into work – she thought she had the day off from both jobs.

    Blondies from Cook’s Illustrated

  • Cooking/baking: Really looking forward to fixing the Caprese-style eggs for dinner tonight – we haven’t had them in a while, and they’re one of our favorite dishes. I think I might make some blondies later this afternoon too (also known as ‘haole brownies’ here) so that Brett and WenYu have a little something sweet to enjoy. It’s cool enough to bake today.
  • Happy I accomplished this past week: We really haven’t had much lately that has to be accomplished other than our regular chores and duties – I guess it’s one of the rewards of being retired. I managed to get in at least one bike ride a day, but accomplished two on most days and even got in three on one day. It just was too hot and humid though for the most part, but I keep at it. Brett has gotten in his daily walk every day. I also drank all my glasses of water every day and did my language study too. I am beginning to get the hang of it so it’s becoming more enjoyable.
  • Looking forward to next week: Once again there’s nothing on the calendar (another benefit of being retired) – what we do or don’t do will be up to us. YaYu won’t be around, WenYu will be busy working her two jobs, so Brett and I would really like to get back to the beach, but it’s supposed to rain for several days so we’ll see. The cooler weather that’s supposed to happen will be much appreciated.
  • Thinking of good things that happened: When YaYu went to pick up her prize for winning the essay contest, she not only got a check for $100 but a whole (reusable) shopping bag of goodies including a stainless steel thermos in a carrying case, a book, a framed copy of her essay and a ukulele worth $50. She gave me the framed essay, and is going to give WenYu the ukulele for Christmas. I think it’s just a half-good thing that my pants are starting to fall off because I haven’t lost enough weight to fit into the smaller sized ones except for one pair.
  • Grateful for: Brett and I are very thankful that such a wonderful family in Honolulu volunteered to host YaYu this week – we’ve been communicating with them for several weeks, and they are looking forward to adding our girl to their family for a few days. We know she will be safe, and well looked after.
  • Bonus question: Have you ever gone to any of your school reunions? I haven’t, and have no desire to go to one. My situation is somewhat different in that I grew up in a small-ish city, and went to school with the same people from kindergarten through my junior year of high school. In my senior year my dad was transferred and I ended up graduating from a different high school. I don’t know anyone from the high school I attended in my senior year, but via Facebook I have been back in touch with several former classmates from my hometown, and re-integrated with my class to a degree, but have found I’m not all that interested in getting together with most of them again. I communicate with some via email and Facebook, but really don’t want to go beyond that. What surprised me the most when I reconnected with my class is that while I remember names, I don’t remember anything else about them at all, and there are even a few names I don’t recall! I’m sure the reverse is true as well – just as many people don’t remember me.

That’s a wrap for this week from Casa Aloha! How was your week? What are you looking forward to? What good things happened for you?

9 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon 6/4/2017

  1. Vicky says:

    Laura, Re the Hawaiian miles. I agree, I have never seen anything but a spend $1k and usually its get 35k or the promotional 50k. What you might want to check is that they haven’t created a new Hawaiian miles account for you where those points are sitting. This happened to my husband last time around we applied for the card for him. Even though we put his Hawaiian miles number on the application Barclaycard in their wisdom opened a new account for him and we then had to undergo the process of having the new mileage account with the miles merged with his prior account. Barclaycard are not the brightest bunch to deal with.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      That’s what happened with Brett’s card – they opened a whole new account that had to be merged. My card seems to be linked to my miles account -we just charged YaYu’s ticket with the card and got the miles credited right away. I have no idea where the 2,000 mile requirement came from. I’ll ratchet things up a bit if the letter doesn’t work – I know someone quite high in the food chain at Hawaiian who can direct me to the right person on that end, and there’s always CHPB on the other end. Thankfully we don’t need any of the miles now, but we will need them next year.

      Like

  2. Natalie says:

    My week was great. I just booked our trip to Spain and Gibraltar in August. I’m excited about having the opportunity to visit Madrid, Cordoba, Granada, Seville and Gibraltar. You know what it’s like to dream and plan for so long then finally get to see the sights. I hope you’ll get your air miles soon without having to take it further.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Wow! What an exciting trip – and I know exactly what you mean about the excitement of an upcoming trip after all the saving and planning. Have a WONDERFUL trip. Can’t wait to read all about it.

      Like

  3. JJ says:

    That’s weird about the Hawaiian miles. Hope you get that straightened out. It almost sounds like a bait and switch!

    I’ve never gone to any of my high school reunions either. I only keep in touch with a couple of friends from high school via Facebook and a few from college, but I’ve never had any desire to attend reunions or rehash the past. My nephew went to his prom yesterday and was the prom king, lol! So that made me wonder if I missed anything because I did not attend my prom, but in my day, only the football players and cheerleaders attended (the ‘popular’ kids) and it seems it’s a lot more inclusive now. I went to a large high school and I was looking through the yearbook recently and realized I remembered only the kids I was good friends with. I guess that’s to be expected.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I specifically mentioned ‘bait and switch’ in my letter – that’s exactly what’s happening.

      When I saw the pictures from my last reunion it was all ‘BBB’ with the women: Blonde, Boobs & Botox. There was all of one woman with dark hair, one had red and only one had gray. Everyone else was blonde, even if they weren’t bond in high school (the men looked their age). Lots of low-cut tops showing cleavage, and no wrinkles even though most stayed in SoCal and had tans. Just not my thing.

      I didn’t do prom either back in the day. Like your, it was jocks and cheerleaders, and not very inclusive. Mailing went to hers, but WenYu had no interest, and YaYu is sort of ‘meh’ about the whole thing, so may or may not go.

      Like

  4. Laurel says:

    It’s always frustrating to spend time on things that shouldn’t have gone wrong. Hope you can resolve it quickly and get your miles.

    I was the victim of credit card fraud last week and have spent way more time than I wanted to dealing with it. It’s my most used card, so a lot of little things go on it every month that had to be caught. I will give Chase credit for catching it really quickly, though. They emailed me and the perp only tried to charge three things, none of which worked. (Really? McDonald’s drive thru?)

    I have gone to a couple of my HS reunions and they were a mixed bag. I went to a REALLY tiny school (grad class of 60 people), so we all knew one another from K-12. The most amazing part to me was that several people who were shy/quiet/non-popular turned out to be the most interesting to talk to, especially those who had left the area or married someone from “away”. Like me, I guess. Anyway, DH graduated with 725 people, only a small group of whom he remembers at all. So at my reunion, he looked around the room and asked me how many people in the room I DIDN’T know. There were three and they had all married someone I graduated with. A few of my friends were worth visiting, but it’s a long way to travel to spend 2-3 hours with people I don’t have much in common with other than a long ago history.

    On a brighter note, a rural small town reunion has no BB&B. 🙂 (Well, one guy had a new wife, but she was actually really nice.)

    Like

  5. Vivian Gibson says:

    I went to my 10 year reunion but haven’t been since. None of my group ( the nerds) were there and while I knew most of my classmates ( 318 in our graduating class) I wasn’t really comfortable there. I discovered the popular kids were still together in a group and met regularly. Also racism alive and well. Everyone was invited but the black members of our class decided to have a separate reunion. Another reason I wasn’t able to see some of my friends.
    I met one of my “friends” the other day at the library where she volunteers. She didn’t remember my name.

    My junior year, I went to a party for all the girls that weren’t invited to the prom. Had a fantastic time. My senior year I went to the prom. Music played so loud you couldn’t talk and since I don’t dance it made for an awkward evening. I did have a beautiful dress though. My mother made it for me and I still have it.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Your reunion experience sounds like what I imagine mine would be like. No thanks.

      I never felt like I missed anything not going to prom. Not even getting to wear a pretty dress. Just not my thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

