This Week’s Menu: Two Celebrations in One!

Huli huli chicken on the grill

This is one of those years where both my birthday and Mother’s Day fall on the same day. When I was growing up, I hated when this happened because it was always just Mother’s Day. My parents never made a big to-do about birthdays as it was, but in this case it was like my birthday didn’t even exist, which was pretty hard to take when I was young.

These days I’m the one that doesn’t care so much about birthday celebrations, at least not my own. And, on Mother’s Day these past few years I’ve been thrilled with my Day of Doing Nothing, where Brett and the girls take care of everything, so that will be plenty for my birthday as well, including what they prepare for me to eat.  I guess I could make a request for something special for Sunday’s dinner, but I’ve decided to leave it up to Brett and YaYu. She loves to cook, and I know she’ll make something fabulous (and low carb). At least I know there will be no cake!

In my quest to spend as little time as possible in the kitchen now that it’s getting warmer (re. HOT), I’m trying out two new recipes this week: Slow Cooker Balsamic Pork Roast, from Skinnytaste, and Huli Huli chicken, a Hawaiian favorite. I saw lots of other recipes I’d like to try, but almost all of them called for honey, which we are out of right now, so they’ll have to wait until next month.

Here’s what we’re having this week:

  • Tuesday (this evening): Grilled chicken & apple sausages; couscous; steamed artichokes (no couscous for me)
  • Wednesday: Grilled teriyaki chicken; zaru soba; cucumber salad (no soba for me – sob!)
  • Thursday: Slow cooker balsamic pork roast; steamed artichokes; bread (no bread for me)
  • Friday: Huli huli chicken; steamed rice; cucumbers (no rice for me)
  • Saturday: Leftovers
  • Sunday: Whatever Brett and YaYu want to fix
  • Monday: Spaghetti & meatballs w/marinara; grilled zucchini; garlic bread

We’ll need to pick up zucchini, cucumbers, green onions, ginger, papayas and bananas this week at the farmers’ market, and anything Brett or YaYu needs for Sunday. After a couple of slim weeks, cucumbers are in abundance again, so we want to buy several for both our meals and to make some refrigerator pickles. Otherwise, we have everything else needed to prepare this week’s menu.

4 thoughts on “This Week’s Menu: Two Celebrations in One!

  1. Laurel says:

    Those recipes both look yummy! I need to follow Skinny Taste on Pinterest. My SIL swears by that website.

    Happy Birthday and Happy Mothers’ Day!

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I’ve found so many good recipes on Skinnytaste. I know they’re geared to Weight Watchers, but she is a fabulous cook, and everything I’ve prepared from the site has been delicious.

      Like

  2. Vicky says:

    Laura, my birthday falls the day after yours so totally get the whole Mother’s Day thing. As someone who is childless, and not by choice, I hate when the two days coincide. Agreed that balsamic pork recipe looks very tasty. BTW Happy Birthday.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I really hated having the two events fall on the same day when I was growing up. I can imagine it would be the same if you don’t have children. Brett and the kids have always done a good job though of making sure the day is extra special when both occasions fall on the same day. The worst though for me was the year our son was born – I was still in the navy, stationed in Pensacola, and pregnant. Brett was up in Memphis and supposed to come down for the weekend, but had his duty changed at the last minutes and he couldn’t come. I remember drowning my sorrows at Basking Robbins with a HUGE bowl of ice cream and feeling exceedingly sorry for myself all weekend.

      I’m really looking forward to the pork roast, and so happy it’s prepared in the slow cooker!

      Like

Leave a Reply

