Five Frugal Things 4/28/2017

Here are five frugal things from this past week:

  1. We realized last weekend that the shorts Brett was wearing were purchased in 1999! I bought them from the Gap, along with three other pairs, on sale for $6 each. Other than being a bit faded they’re still in excellent shape. His Reyn Spooner aloha shirt was purchased from Goodwill for just $6.99.
  2. We of course brought home the complementary toiletries that were in our room at the Hotel Coral Reef. The soap and shower gel are being used now, but the shampoo, conditioner and lotion were set aside for future travels.
  3. We always combine trips whenever possible to save gas, so made a loop of Walmart, Big Save, Cost-U-Less and finished up at the farmers’ market on Wednesday, and then on Thursday morning stopped at Costco on the way home from my appointment at the Barking Sands PMRF base (on the far west side) to get my military ID card renewed.
  4. Before we shopped at Costco, we went carefully over our list one more time and were able to remove four items that we either didn’t really need, or that can wait until next month.
  5. Rather than buy pre-cut pineapple for kabobs next week ($12.99), we again bought a whole one for just $2.99. The pineapples sold at Costco are from Maui and they’re huge – we’ll get twice as much fruit as a package of pre-cut. We’ll also plant the top and keep our fingers crossed – the chickens have dug up the last two.

What frugal things did you do this week?

 

11 thoughts on “Five Frugal Things 4/28/2017

  1. tpol1 says:

    Wow! Kudos to Brett for keeping in shape to be able to wear something from 1999. I have a shirt that I have purchased in 2001 which I still wear at home and running errands. I also have a nice wool Benetton sweater that my sister gave me way back in 2000 that I wear only during real cold days. I cannot imagine wearing shorts that old since I have gained so much weight over the years though.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Brett is one of those people who has stayed pretty consistent over the years – he has gone up and down, but he’s never not been able to wear certain clothes, which has happened to me more times than I can count. He is also one of those people who wears out his clothes – literally – I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to go in and throw something out (like his old work shirts and some sweaters) and tell him “enough is enough!”

      Like

  2. Hawaii Planner says:

    Totally agree with the other comment – maintaining the size is a huge victory on top of the frugality! 🙂 Let’s see. I definitely have pants that are 10 years old, as well as a few dresses. I haven’t gotten my thoughts together enough for a frugal post, but hopefully soon! And yes, local Maui pineapple is the best. So worth having fresh

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I have one dress that’s 10 years old (that I can’t get into right now), but that’s it. I did bring all my smaller size (i.e. S) clothes along with me when we moved and I’m looking forward to wearing them again. Right now my problem is that the larger size (M) I’m wearing now is wearing out, like the elastic is giving out and fabric is getting thin, but I really don’t want to buy anything new. So, hopefully I can make things last long enough until I can get into the smaller stuff again. I know this sounds like I have a ton of clothes, but I don’t – I rotate through five pairs of pants and about 10 tops. Same for the smaller size clothes. I had more stuff when I was working, but gave most of that away to Goodwill before we moved.

      Like

  3. Vicky says:

    Hmm I can only think of two at the moment. Ate every meal at home this week and the second is we are moving house next week. I am only using movers to take over the furniture the rest of the household contents are going to be moved by myself.

    A bit off topic, but I would be interested for your take on the Hawaii education system based on the experience with your two girls. I don’t have any children, however there is so much negativity towards Hawaii schooling on forums that are used by people thinking of making a move to the Islands, I would be interested in hearing what your thoughts are based on your experience.

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    We do the same when we move (well other than our move over here) – we pack everything ourselves, and hire movers to do the heavy furniture.

    We have had a very good experience with the schools here, albeit that’s just one high school. One daughter did two years here, and got into a very good school (Wellesley) with a full scholarship. Our other daughter, who will complete all four years of high school here, is on track to do the same. They both took/take AP courses, honors classes etc. My big gripe with many of the commenters on the forums when they start complaining about schools is that 1) they don’t have any children; they’re really just going off what others have said. They’ll throw out testing scores, statistics, etc. but never dig deeper into them to find out what’s really going on 2) they all seem to believe that ALL schools on the mainland are high performing and therefore Hawaii schools are sub-perfoming. The truth is that Hawaii is pretty much right in the middle when it comes to school performance 3) there is a very different private school culture here, and many families want their kids in private schools. Proportionally, it’s very different from any other place we’ve lived, but the reality is that when so many kids go to private schools, it takes away from the public schools in terms of talent, scholarship, and parent involvement. There’s nothing wrong with private schools whatsoever, but I think here in Hawai’i you can’t evaluate public schools fairly without understanding the culture and the disproportionate role that private schools play.

    How a child performs in school depends on the parents’ involvement, both with the school and with their child’s education. No school is someplace where you drop your kids off and then expect the school to do everything, including motivate your child to learn, or find extra-curriculars, etc. But that’s what’s happened at many of the big mainland schools – they’re very competitive and the parents expect the schools to do it all. I think the complainers expect it to be the same here, and it just isn’t for a lot of reasons.

    Anyway, we’ve had a good experience, with our high school anyway. We’ve met others that have gone through the schools here from kindergarten through high school, and are doing well, got into good schools, etc. But, the parents are very involved in their child’s education, and involved with the schools as well. OK, I’ll get off my soapbox now!

    Like

  5. quesoit1 says:

    We went to Barking Sands beach on a trip to Kauai some years ago. Didn’t see the green flash at sunset, and I wasn’t sure if the sound under my feet was barking, but it was a lovely spot.

    Good for Brett for staying the same size. I’m lucky to now be able to “shop in my closet” after a significant weight loss. But this weekend I have to face one of the biggest threats to my low-carb diet — festival weekend at my Buddhist temple. Spam musubi temptation staring me in the face!

    Like

    • Laura says:

      The sands didn’t bark for us the other day, but I couldn’t get over how fine the sand is there compared to our beach over here on the east side of the island.

      April must be spam musubi month – both our girls away at college just went to festivals and had it, and YaYu has been craving it. I just cannot get past the Spam though.

      There are carbs I allow myself to eat now again, for special occasions. Don’t beat yourself up over it!

      Liked by 1 person

      • quesoit1 says:

        My dad was from Hawai’i (Oahu), so I grew up eating Spam, Vienna sausage, canned corned beef hash, hot dogs, and other stuff that tasted like home to him. So although I know it’s not the healthiest food, it tastes kije home to me, too.

        Like

  6. Laurel says:

    Agree with the others: good for Brett re: staying the same weight all that time. We both find as we’ve aged, it becomes harder, but my DH had a heart scan last year, really “got religion” and had to actually buy some smaller clothes. Now he is determined to not ‘outgrow’ them. ha!

    For myself, I have a pair of pants that I store in the bottom of my summer clothing and put them on every spring. If they’re too tight, I know I need to lose weight. They’re hopelessly outdated style-wise, but a good gauge for me.

    We have a wonderful Crazy Shirts souvenir T from Barking Sands on our first trip to Kauai. That island is just so beautiful.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      There have been times over the years when Brett’s pants/shorts have been more difficult to button than others, but he has stayed fairly consistent over the years. This last trip to Japan sure made both Brett and I “get religion” about getting into better shape though. We were both miserable about having to carry around the extra pounds. I’m not sure why I kept the smaller size pants but now I’m glad I did (just like I was that I had saved my medium sized ones), and they give me something to shoot for. It really is much harder to lose weight now, although the combination of no starches and bike riding seems to be working well for me this time around.

      Barking Sands is beautiful – I keep forgetting how nice it is out there because we only go about once a year or so.

      Like

Leave a Reply

