Five Frugal Things 4/21/2017

It was another frugal week here at Casa Aloha:

  1. We used some of our Hawaiian Airlines mileage stockpile this last week to book WenYu’s ticket from Honolulu to Kaua’i in May. Total out-of-pocket cost for her flight: $5.60 (the taxes).
  2. As usual, we washed only three loads of clothes this week, and hung many of them out in the sun to dry. We wash in cold water, except for the white load when we use the ‘Eco-warm’ setting (our towels are white, so they’re in this load).
  3. YaYu needed a long dress for one event at the Key Club convention this weekend, and the dress code is fairly strict. She spent several hours looking online for something both appropriate and affordable, but ended up buying a simple black dress and ‘gold’ necklace at Ross this past weekend for just $10.88! A friend will loan her a pair of shoes to complete her outfit.
  4. Brett and I have decided that rather than ordering off the regular dinner menu at the restaurant tomorrow evening, we’ll order three or four small plates instead and share those – less money, fewer calories.
  5. We were very close to having a no-spend week: Other than our trip to the farmers’ market (money already set aside), the only other spending was for the tax on WenYu’s flight, and $8.80 to send YaYu’s Chinese visa application over to Oahu via FedEx. Necessities only!

What frugal wins did you have this past week?

4 thoughts on “Five Frugal Things 4/21/2017

  1. Laurel says:

    Wow! You did so well! I commend YaYu on the dress/necklace combo, as I so wish I could have the $$ back we spent on my girls’ dresses for h.s. events. Great job!

    We often eat small plates or share dishes while eating out. Restaurant portions are huge for us and it’s a great way to save. Enjoy your dinner!

    My mom lives 7.5 hours north of me and I drove up and back to get her for Easter & her BD, and this week I drove up and back to return her home. She and her husband bought me gas and the meals along the way, so it was pretty frugal and I loved having them here for Easter brunch. That said, I am pooped and need a big nap!

    RE: my annual Easter brunch. We had 9 people this year vs 18 last year, so it was very noticeably cheaper and we had a ton of leftovers. All good.

    This week we’re back on the frugality wagon. 🙂

    Like

    • Laura says:

      YaYu had to spend her own money on her dress so was determined to find a bargain.

      Restaurant portions are too big for us these days as well, although everything on the menu looked so good. We were very pleased with the small plates we ordered and shared, and still had leftovers!

      Sounds like you had a wonderful Easter! We sent treats to the college girls, bought candy at the Navy Exchange for our grandson when we were in Japan, and got YaYu some chocolates here – that was the extent of our celebration this year.

      Like

  2. Hawaii Planner says:

    I’m late to the party, but I had a few frugal wins this week. I took an Uber Pool to the airport on Thursday. Much cheaper than the standard uber. It was $8 for my ride – what a deal! I had a girls trip on the Oregon coast, and we ate in for every meal but one. I paid for the meal out, and my sister & best friend brought food for the trip. It was a fabulous & not terribly expensive weekend. So fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

