This Week’s Menu: A New Challenge

Kalua pork & macaroni salad

Kalua pork & macaroni salad

YaYu put her foot down last week, and said no more dairy. She has never really cared for milk or other dairy products – OK, she loves ice cream – but ate them in limited amounts whenever they were included something I prepared. Her doctors have suspected lactose intolerance over the years, but never really gave us a firm diagnosis, and only suggested she take Lactaid. Recently though she has become more uncomfortable than ever after consuming anything dairy, and last week said she was done with it – no cheese, no milk, no yogurt, no ice cream – nothing dairy.

So, I am going to have to change the way I cook and what I cook. It’s going to be quite the challenge as YaYu is somewhat of a picky eater, and turns up her nose at many dishes the rest of us enjoy, even if they don’t contain any dairy. But, I will do my best. I’m open to any suggestions and ideas any of you have. She LOVES spicy food.

WenYu is still with us for a few more days this week, so I’m still making a couple of dishes that contain dairy. YaYu loves cheeseburger pie enough that she said it was worth taking Lactaid, and she won’t be home for Friday’s dairy-rich soup and sandwiches.

Here’s what we’re having:

  • Tuesday (today): Pork & pepper stir fry; steamed rice
  • Wednesday: Cheeseburger pie; tater tots; coleslaw
  • Thursday: Kalua pork; macaroni salad; steamed rice; cucumber salad
  • Friday: Tuna melts; clam chowder; carrot sticks (swim team spaghetti dinner for YaYu)
  • Saturday: Leftovers
  • Sunday: Breakfast for dinner: scrambled eggs; bacon; English muffins; fruit
  • Monday: Potstickers; steamed rice; Asian-y coleslaw

We’ve used up all of this month’s food allowance other than a few dollar (which will be spent on eggs tomorrow), so everything will be made from what we have on hand. We thankfully have plenty of produce on hand, so we don’t need to go to the farmers’ market. And, with WenYu leaving, leftovers will begin appearing on the menu again.

14 thoughts on “This Week’s Menu: A New Challenge

    • Laura says:

      I use soy milk whenever I can in recipes, but YaYu is not a milk drinker, regular or otherwise. She doesn’t eat cereal, for example, or have milk as a beverage. She joined our family when she was five years old, and her tastes were pretty well set by then. Milk has never been on her hit parade. Ice cream, on the other hand . . . .

      Like

  1. Laurel says:

    Interesting challenge. I’ve found as I have gotten older that dairy upsets me more. I love ice cream, but rarely eat it anymore, because I can pretty much guarantee it will upset my stomach. I’ve gone to almond milk on my cereal and only eat hard cheese with low or no lactose. I do miss sour cream on Mexican food and use it occasionally, but usually regret it. Good luck with your meals…you can do it! You’ve been so good about your own eating while eliminating things.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Dairy upsets my stomach as well. I don’t have it very much any more, and when I do it’s in small amounts. I prefer soy milk on my cereal. We buy milk a quart at a time because no one here really drinks or uses it.

      Like

  2. Cheryl says:

    My son is lactose intolerant and has gotten worse over the last couple of years. It is more expensive but he drinks only Lactaid milk. The pills work for a small amount of cheese but not the amount of milk that boy drinks. I also buy Lactaid ice cream as a treat for once in a while. Good luck, for my Adam, the almond milk was as bad as regular so be careful. Cheryl

    Like

    • Laura says:

      YaYu drank Lactaid milk when she was young, because she needed the calcium, but she really just doesn’t care for milk, or its taste. Same for most cheeses. The only cheese she likes is melted on a hamburger or in cheeseburger pie. But both still upset her stomach. She doesn’t even care for pizza because of the cheese!

      Like

  3. Mary Smith says:

    Soy milk is a good alternative if you can tolerate soy. But I agree that a lot of the nut alternatives cause some problems also. Rice milk is acceptable but it very thin and does not have much flavor. But if you can use a vegan spread like Earth Balance in recipes it will work with some modifications and additions. Gluten and Milk allergies are the worst because so many dishes contain them and the alternatives are just ok.

    Lots of serious food allergies in my household and I just want to mention that if someone is having “gut” reactions, You really do not know what physical damage is being done inside their body. A little poison is still poison.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Meiling drank rice milk for two years after she came home, gradually switching over to cow’s milk – it took her stomach that long to adjust (because of health issues she developed when she was a baby, before we adopted her). She does fine though now with all dairy. It’s been a different journey with YaYu, and her lactose intolerance appears to be getting worse as she ages.

      WenYu can eat anything with no problems. Three kids, three different dietary issues.

      Like

  4. Snoskred says:

    I posted a recipe for savory mince sometime last week. When I made cheeseburger pie this past weekend – my first time making it – I realised how similar it actually was to the savory mince. You could easily take out one serving of the mince for cheeseburger pie and then crank it up with extra veg and spices, or add in noodles or rice.

    I found that the A2 milk is a lot easier for me to tolerate, so I tend to stick with that as much as possible. I use almond milk in my smoothies which I feel is the best of the “alternate” milk versions – it tastes a bit like awesomely flavoured icecream to me. 🙂

    Like

    • Laura says:

      When I made the baked chili rellenos the other day I did not put cheese on one end of the casserole – it was an easy thing to do, so I’m looking for ways that I can still make recipes we all enjoy, but can adapt either totally or partially for YaYu. I had to change the day for cheeseburger pie on this week’s menu, and will fix it the evening YaYu is at her swim practice spaghetti dinner. If she comes home full from that, she’ll have time to think whether she really wants to eat it or not.

      I love the organic vanilla soy milk from Costco – it’s also tastes a bit like ice cream.

      Like

  5. Jennifer Eldredge says:

    Our family eats tacos/burritos at least twice a week. It is a great way to use up any meat you have leftover. It satisfies our picky eater and our vegetarian, since we put the ingredients out and everyone assembles their own. Especially since she likes spicy, this might work for your family. You could even use lettuce for the “taco shells” so make it low calorie.
    P.S. My kids all drink Lactaid milk and it is much less expensive at Costco. Lactaid has a long shelf-life.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      You would think YaYu would love Mexican food because of the spices, but she doesn’t :-(. The rest of us love it though, so I still fix it now and again. I usually make things like tacos and burritos where we can leave off the cheese.

      YaYu loves anything Asian, but especially noodles. She also loves pasta of any kind, but doesn’t care for ravioli (because they contain cheese). She pours some kind of hot sauce or condiment on absolutely everything she eats except for sweets. As I said above, her tastes were pretty much set by the time she joined our family and the area of China she comes from is known for their very spicy food (Hunan) – she developed a taste for it at a very young age.

      Like

  6. Mona McGinnis says:

    Would you consider goat milk? It seems to be more tolerable than cows’ milk for some. I made a pasta dish the other day with tomatoes/tomato paste and it was every bit as good as a milk/cheese sauce. Also, made a quinoa/sweet potato/chickpea dish with canned tomatoes/tomato paste and Indian spices.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Goat milk got shut down very quickly here. I love goat cheese and have used it in casseroles, so may try that again and see how it goes.

      We enjoy Indian food – I may try to cook more of it these days because there’s lots that doesn’t contain any dairy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

