A Day To Be Thankful

The original immigrants

Undocumented immigrants!

I am by nature an optimist. I always look for the good, for the silver lining, and remind myself that nothing lasts forever, both good and bad. The world is always changing because that is the way of the world.

This Thanksgiving, the mood here at Casa Aloha is one of great uncertainty, like that of standing in a marsh and unsure of whether the next step will be solid ground or quicksand. Changes are coming, but how they will affect our family and friends, our nation, and our futures are unknown. None of the foundations Brett and I put in place seem as strong as they once did; there are no longer guarantees they will remain as they are, or if they do remain, in what condition.

But, today is a day for expressing gratitude for what we have, not for worrying about the future – that can wait until tomorrow. And today, right now, we have much to be thankful for:

  • Brett and I are in good health. Our children are healthy and thriving.
  • We have two beautiful, healthy grandchildren.
  • My mother is still with us.
  • We have wonderful friends.
  • After 40 years together Brett and my partnership is as strong as ever. We’re still in love, and enjoy each other’s company every day.
  • Meiling and WenYu are attending their #1 college choices, and doing well. YaYu is knocking it out of the park as she moves through her junior year of high school. Our son and his family are healthy and happy
  • We live in one of the most beautiful places on the planet.
  • We have enough to eat, more than enough actually. We have a lovely home. We can pay our bills, save a little, and have enough money left over to travel once in a while. We know how to live frugally.

We remain optimists.

Sending all of my American readers warm wishes for a blessed Thanksgiving Day!

4 thoughts on “A Day To Be Thankful

  1. tpol1 says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! Thanksgiving is by far my most favorite “American” Holiday. I love the Christmas decorations and carols and the festive air as a non-Christian person but Thanksgiving has a different place in my heart. I even went to the Plymouth Rock and followed the footsteps of the pilgrims once. If I had been born in that era, I might have been one of them. I also love Turkey and all the fixings. I usually make that menu for the New Year’s Day here in my country.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday too – it’s all about food, family and friends without all the hoopla that goes along with Christmas.

      Plymouth Rock is sometimes called “the most disappointing site in America.” I was surprised by how small it was, and also how small the Mayflower was. I can’t imagine being on a ship that tiny and crossing the ocean. We’ve traced the route of the Pilgrims too – my family (mother’s side) has three lines that trace directly back to passengers on the Mayflower. The most famous are John Alden & Priscilla Mullins.

      Like

  2. Laurel says:

    Beautiful post, Laura. We are also very blessed and I am grateful for so many things as you are. It’s good to take a day to be thankful and live in the moment. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

Leave a Reply

