#Kauai: Island Taco

img_4251

This is the reason I don’t order fish tacos back on the mainland.

Island Taco is one of my all-time favorite places to eat on Kaua’i. The above is the incredibly delicious Island Taco grilled wasabi ahi taco that I had last Saturday: a big, fresh homemade flour tortilla loaded with rice, shredded cabbage, big pieces of seared, locally-caught ahi tuna, and wasabi sauce . . . all for just $9. Look at the size of that thing – it takes up half of a full-size plate! The fresh tortilla chips and salsa were pretty darn good too.

The tacos and burritos at Island Taco are definitely “Hawaiian style” and include rice and flavors that reflect island versus mainland tastes. Come expecting a Mexican or Southwest-style taco and you might be disappointed, but if you’re open to trying something a little bit different these will knock your socks off! My only complaint would be that the wasabi sauce could do with a little more kick to it.

img_4241

Island Taco is located just before the turn to go up  into Waimea Canyon.

Besides several different taco variations (Cajun-style ahi, mahi mahi, kalua pork, shrimp, teriyaki chicken and more), Island Taco also offers huge burritos (our girls’ favorites) as well as enchiladas, quesadillas, taco salad and other specials. Tacos range in price from $8.25 to $9.00, and a double plate, with two tacos, from $14.50 to $15.50. I can’t imagine eating two of these big things, but if you and someone else want the same flavor tacos, this is a good way to save a little. Burritos are $11 to $11.50, and come with refried beans and dirty rice on the side.

If you’re visiting Kaua’i, and heading to the west side to visit Waimea Canyon (which is a must-see), give yourself time for a stop at Island Taco!

Island Taco even has their own security . . . to make sure you don't drop anything!

Island Taco even has their own security 🙂 – he’s there to make sure you don’t drop anything!

Island Taco is located at 9643 Kaumualii Highway in Waimea, and is open daily from 11:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.

4 thoughts on “#Kauai: Island Taco

  1. JJ says:

    We passed this place quite a few times. We didn’t stop because we both aren’t crazy about Mexican food and wanted to sample Hawaiian food (like pork lau lau–my favorite!) instead, but I’ll try this next time I’m in the area.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      These tacos are definitely island style, not really Mexican or Southwestern at all. It’s our favorite place to eat on the west side.

      Meiling has never eaten there, so we’re going to take her when she’s home for Christmas. I’m also trying to figure out how to duplicate the wasabi sauce because I think we can make these at home.

      P.S. I love the lau lau too!

      Like

      • JJ says:

        If I lived in Hawaii I’d be eating lau lau every day! We don’t have that where I live and I have no idea how to make it so it’s a special treat. We went to Pono Market quite a bit and their lau lau was amazing.

        It’s good to know that the tacos are not really Mexican/Southwestern style. I was wondering about that when I saw the photo you posted because the tortilla doesn’t look like the ones I see around here. I will definitely try that next time. I’m hoping I can come back sometime next year.

        Like

Leave a Reply

