Things Are Getting Real

We are well stocked with snacks for the airplane!

We are well stocked with snacks for the airplane!

One week from today WenYu and I will arrive in Massachusetts, and it is really starting to sink in how much we both need to do to get her ready to go (I can pack my bag in about 15 minutes). This morning WenYu is renewing her passport, and this afternoon she and I both have appointments for haircuts (same stylist) among other things that need to be taken care of. Every day now she will be setting things out to be packed, and she has three more days of work to get through as well.

At least all our travel snacks are ready to go! WenYu and I went to Costco on Monday to pick up a couple of things she wants to take with her, and when we saw the bag of Kona Coffee Macadamia Nut Brittle we knew we had to have it, even if it wasn’t on our list. What’s not to love about coffee, macadamia nuts and brittle? WenYu is set with her pork jerky, Pringles, Chimes ginger chews and Sour Patch Kids to get her through the long flights, and I’ll make do with the ginger wafer cookies and brittle (and maybe a couple of Pringles). We’re going to pick up a couple of sandwiches on Monday to take along for lunch on our way over to San Diego, but unless we can find something in the San Diego airport before we depart for Boston we’ll have to buy our lunch onboard for that leg of the trip on Wednesday.

On a different note, Brett and my retirement in Hawai’i was highlighted yesterday in Bob Lowry’s wonderful blog, A Satisfying Retirement! If you’re starting to think about retirement, getting close or already there, Bob’s blog is a fabulous resource, with a wealth of information about how to truly enjoy a more satisfying retirement no matter where you live or what you plan to do. I encourage you check it out (if you’re not already reading it, that is)!

11 thoughts on “Things Are Getting Real

  1. JJ says:

    Thanks for the link to Bob’s blog. I’m not close to retirement, but I am starting my research since I’ll be 50 soon and would like to retire early. It looks like he has even written a book on the topic. I’m coming to Kauai next week and Kona Coffee Macadamia Nut Brittle are on the top of my shopping list! I’ve never had it, but I agree that combination is tough to pass up.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I’m sorry we won’t be here while you’re on the island – I love to get together with readers, if possible. But, I will be eating the brittle in solidarity with you! Hope you have a wonderful time while you’re here.

      Like

  2. UnwrittenLifeBlog says:

    Depending on what terminal you’re flying into, there’s either quite a few food choices, or hardly any! Oh, and a friend of mine is flying into Boston that same day! Her daughter will be attending graduate school there. What a coincidence!

    Like

  3. JJ says:

    I was going to ask if you’d be available to meet up, but when I read your post on taking WenYu to college, I realized you will be away during the time that I’ll be in Kauai. It would have been fun to meet you, but I try to go to Hawaii once a year, so maybe next year. This will be my first visit to Kauai (I’ve been to Oahu many times and Maui and the Big Island once each) and I’m very excited. Thanks to your blog, I have a list of places to visit and I’m sure we’ll have a great time (I’m traveling with a friend). Best wishes to you and WenYu on your trip to Massachusetts!

    Like

  4. Janette says:

    I have butterflies in my tummy for you.
    Have a great flight and a happy landing for East coast college. She can always come to Delaware if she gets stir crazy this winter.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I have been waking up every morning with a knot in my stomach – she has so much to get ready, and the days are just speeding by.

      I feel so very fortunate that I have two friends that live right by Wellesley, and who have already offered to be there for WenYu if she ever needs assistance. Maybe though if Brett and I make it back we’ll swing down to Delaware – it wouldn’t be too far away.

      Like

Leave a Reply

