Sunday Afternoon June 5, 2016

Starting off summer vacation with some passionfruit-pineapple wine (Thanks Denise & Jim for the tip!)

Starting off summer vacation with some passionfruit-pineapple wine (Thanks Denise & Jim for the tip!)

Well, if other months have gone by quickly, May was supersonic. With both girls home for the summer now, I hope things will slow down just a bit. WenYu will be leaving for college in less than three months, and I really would like the remaining time with her at home to stretch itself out, or at least feel like it’s passing more slowly.

Although it’s perfectly lovely here today (we’re going to the beach shortly), this past week has been one of those where I’m glad we live here versus having spent thousands of dollars to come for a vacation. It’s been rainy, overcast, cool, humid, etc. – really a rather unpleasant week for Kaua’i weather-wise. I always feel sad for those who are here on vacation or their honeymoon when the weather’s like this. There are loads of ways to have a good time here, but spending time on the beach is the primary reason people come and it must be frustrating not to be able to get out and enjoy the beaches or the Hawai’i sunshine.

YaYu and WenYu have been doing a fantastic job in kitchen all week. The meals have been delicious (from all reports) with few, if any, leftovers. Brett said the pork wontons and egg drop soup they had on Thursday evening were restaurant quality. YaYu and I are going to talk later today or tomorrow about splitting up the menu planning and cooking responsibilities for the rest of the summer.

With the start of another new month, once again I’ve decided not to make any changes to my eating or exercise – everything has been going well, so why change? I did try to add goat cheese back in last month, but it gave me terrible indigestion, so I’m sticking with ‘no dairy’ in any form. And as far as my cutting back on caffeine this past week? It has not made one iota of difference in my ability to fall asleep, so something else is causing this current round of insomnia. It will pass, but in the meantime I’m going to enjoy a second cup of coffee every day again.

Here’s what’s going on this afternoon:

  • Reading: I have just a few pages left to go of Spark Joy. After reading the chapter on kitchen organization late one night last week, I was inspired to get up and reorganize my spice cabinet (and am much happier with it). I have no idea right now what I’m going to read next – the book I wanted to read is not available on Kindle, and the library doesn’t open again until Tuesday. Brett is now reading East of Eden after finishing The Grapes of Wrath this past week – he is on a Steinbeck kick right now.
  • Listening to: Children are playing outside, and now and again the chickens get noisy. But otherwise it’s pretty quiet. We’re getting lovely breezes today, and the birds are singing again too.
  • Watching: Brett and I are still working our way through Netflix’s The Mysteries of Laura. We really like the show and are happy there are so many episodes in the first season. One we watched this past week had Debra Messing paired again with Eric McCormack, but it took us both a couple of moments to remember where we’d seen them together before (Will & Grace). All the PBS Sunday evening shows that I enjoy have finished, so not sure if we’ll watch more Laura again tonight or try to find something else.
  • Cooking/baking: Brett made BLTs for the girls this morning; he had a big bowl of oatmeal and I had a whole wheat bagel with peanut butter for breakfast. YaYu and WenYu are fixing chicken parmesan with spaghetti for dinner tonight; I’ll be in charge of the salad and garlic bread.
  • Happy I accomplished this past week: I really didn’t do much of anything other than my regular chores and getting my spice cabinet re-organized. We were stuck inside for most of the week, but all took it kind of easy and chilled.
  • Looking forward to next week: Waikiki!! We’re all excited about getting away for our short visit to Oahu. Brett and I plan to spend most of our time relaxing on the beach with some mai tais while the girls will be taking care of some of their back-to-school shopping.
  • Thinking of good things that happened: WenYu (and Brett and I) got a nice surprise this week when a certificate from the Hawai’i State Legislature acknowledging her academic achievements arrived in the mail. Just wow. We are all also completely thrilled with the kitchen worktable we purchased two weeks ago, both with the extra workspace and the lower-shelf storage it provides. We’ve all remarked this past week about how much better the kitchen space works for us now, and wondered why we waited so long to buy it. We put $8.45 into the change/$1 bill jar this past week. And, mangoes have finally started to appear at the farmer’s market – yeah! Lilikoi (passionfruit) will be showing up soon too – more yeah!
  • Thankful for: I’m feeling very grateful right now that we moved when we did last year, even if things were tense for a while with our old landlord. The old house has been sold, but apparently there was quite a bit a maintenance work that had to be done before the sale could close (like replacing the entire septic system among other things), which would have either been intensely disruptive, or we would have had to move anyway right in the middle of the girls’ testing or our spring vacation. And, we might not have found a house as nice as the one we’re in now.
  • Bonus question: Are you a night person or a morning person? If you’ve been reading my blog(s) for any length of time at all, you probably know that I’m definitely a night person (an ‘owl’). I always have been too, for as long as I can remember. Brett, on the other hand, is a morning person (a ‘lark’), and always has been. I told him before we married that he would have to accept that I would not be that wife getting up and making him breakfast, and he was OK with that, so things have worked out. The only time I ever woke up early on my own was when I was pregnant, and I figure that was because of hormones. One of the best things about retirement is that Brett now gets up with the girls and fixes their breakfasts and gets them off to school in the mornings, and then enjoys some quiet time until I wake up. On the other hand, I get my quiet time at night, and take care of cleaning chores and such when everyone else has gone to bed, so it’s been a win-win for both of us. Brett knows me well enough to know not to say anything to me until after I’ve had a cup of coffee. I’m not a grouch, but it does take me a while to wake up and face the day. I’ve also been lucky that all four of my children were not early risers, even when they were babies.

That’s a wrap for this Sunday! How has your week gone? What did you get accomplished? What good things happened for you?

9 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon June 5, 2016

  1. becomingmenaturally says:

    I am without a doubt a night owl…I think it comes from working 7p-7a for so many years but am slowly trying to train myself to go to bed earlier and earlier. Phone off(well not a problem since it is a brick right now), computers off, tv off and try to get to sleep. I have no idea how I got through the baby years because I really am not pleasant in the the morning. Or maybe that is just old age creeping up on me 🙂

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I worked the night shift for many years and it took me a long time to retrain myself to a more “normal” night owl schedule. Give yourself some time, but it will happen.

      I “trained” my children not to talk to me in the morning until I spoke to them. I was never grouchy or mean, they got a hot breakfast every morning, and they could talk to each other and did, but I just needed some time to get going in the morning. By the time it was time to leave for the bus stop I was functioning normally. When they’re not in school or going to work, my kids all get up after I do!

      Liked by 1 person

      • becomingmenaturally says:

        I think everyone knows not to talk to me in the morning. That’s another reason I go into work early when no one is there. I can get my brain into function mode without yelling at anyone. I am really NOT a morning person

        Liked by 1 person

  2. UnwrittenLifeBlog says:

    We’d like to there enjoying the wine with you! Currently we’re looking at December or January for our annual visit, and we’re heading to Oahu in June with Jim’s son’s Steel Drum class. That will be a crazy week, we’re thinking about stopping over in Kaua’i for a few days before coming home!

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Be sure to let us know if and when you’re coming, whether it’s June or December – we do not want to miss seeing you!! We’re enjoying the wine – it’s a fun way to start the summer.

      Like

  3. Vivian Gibson says:

    Also a night owl, I have had insomnia for years. Have read all I can about it but no cure for it yet. Looking forward to your blogging about the trip to Oahu.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I too have tried every way under the sun to get a grip on my wanting to stay up so late but to no avail. I seem to do better when we’re traveling – not sure why, but I usually have no trouble getting up at a decent time in the morning, and going to bed at night.

      I’ll try to post from Oahu, but if I don’t will catch up after we get back.

      Like

  4. Janette says:

    You are enjoying one of my favorite wines!
    Night owl here. Forced myself to be a morning person for twenty years of teaching.
    Slowly going back to nature.
    Our Niece (and her young family) is moving to Maui in July.
    Maybe we will make it over there in two or three years.
    Aloha!

    Like

    • Laura says:

      We didn’t even know about it until friends Denise and Jim shared it with on their last visit. Brett and I promised ourselves we’d open a bottle after the school year ended. We like it – it’s more refreshing than you might think, and sweet but in a good way.

      That’s how I felt all the years I got the girls up for school – there was nothing natural about me getting up at that hour.

      If and when you do make it over here, you’d better let me know! I LOVE getting to meet my readers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

