Sunday Afternoon 5/15/2016

First things first: The randomly selected winner of the Monkeypod Jam giveaway is  . . . Emilee! I will be contacting her by email later today so I can send off her prize in the next couple of days. It was fun to do this giveaway – I plan to do another in a few months, next time with lilikoi curd!

Proud mom with WenYu at the NHS meeting

Proud mom with WenYu at the NHS meeting

One thing I have come to love about Hawai’i is that every event is a reason to party! Seriously, people here seem to be able to turn the most mundane occasion into a something fun and festive.

This past Thursday I attended the girls’ high school’s National Honor Society induction for new members, and recognition of seniors (Brett had to attend another meeting for grad night). We were told that WenYu needed to bring a lei, so Brett and I stopped at Safeway that afternoon and picked one up. The lei was not the least nor the most expensive one they had, but a nice one to present to someone else. Except it turned out the lei was for me! After YaYu and others were inducted as a new members of the NHS, parents of seniors were called up to the front where we put on our child’s graduation stole, and students then presented their parent(s) with a lei as thanks for their support over the years (if I had known the lei was for me I would have bought a cheaper one!). Following the ceremonies a yummy buffet of Chinese food was served. There was so much food that families were begged to take leftovers home with them, so we walked away with a big container of rice, and enough (vegan) noodles and fried chicken for a couple of days of lunches! The whole event was so much fun, and such a change from our experience back in Portland, where we sat in the auditorium, heard a few speeches, Meiling and other students got their membership cards and then everyone was sent home. Brett attended the Senior Award assembly on Friday morning, and it was a full-on party as well with food and flowers, as was the girls’ final Key Club meeting on Friday evening.

But, I think we are finally done with all meetings and such for the year, or at least I hope so. So much has been going on recently that it’s been hard to keep up with it all, and all of us are tired, especially the girls. They were up early yesterday morning for an outing for Big Brothers/Big Sisters, but are now also finished with that for the year, and thankfully have nothing planned for this next week.

I also had a lovely birthday yesterday. I slept in, and in the afternoon Brett and the girls took me to Java Kai for a coffee drink. Dinner was delicious, and WenYu did the clean-up! My lei from Thursday was still in good enough condition that I wore it for most of the day which helped make me feel special.

This afternoon I am:

  • Reading: I’ll finish up Holy Cow in the next couple of days, and am trying to decide what to read next – so many choices!
  • Listening to: The usual Sunday morning sounds: kids playing outside, and lots of birds singing. WenYu is off on a hike with a friend, and YaYu is getting ready to go to a quick meeting for Key Club (yes, another meeting, but she was elected president for next year). The sun is out and it’s a beautiful day!
  • Watching: There are just a few more available episodes of The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt left for us to watch this week (love this wacky show!), and then for something different we going to watch either The Miss Fisher Mysteries, Land Girls or The Americans. Tonight I’m of course watching Call the Midwife, Wallander, and Mr. Selfridge.
  • Cooking/baking: The rice we got at the NHS celebration will be turned into fried rice for tonight’s dinner. All sorts of odds and ends from our vegetable stash will get used up – yeah! – as well as some leftover chicken (although my rice won’t have chicken). No baking today.
  • Happy I accomplished last week: Getting either me, Brett, the girls or all of us to all our assigned meetings/events on time last week along with all the accoutrement (lei, potluck dishes, etc.). It was wild.
  • Looking forward to next week: GRADUATION!!!! The big ceremony is Friday evening and everything is ready to go. Brett, YaYu and I will be staying after the ceremony to help with clean-up while WenYu sets off for grad night. The location for that event is still a secret, but according to those who have gone in the past it’s loads of fun and a night to remember.
  • Thinking of good things that happened: Can I brag just once more about WenYu? At Friday’s Senior Award assembly, she was presented with $300 from the English department as their top student! We are so proud of this girl! We also put $12.47 into the change/$1 bill jar this last week – every little bit helps and it adds up fast!

    Yesterday's view from the Kapaa library

    Yesterday’s view from the Kapaa library

  • Grateful for: The daily ocean views we are blessed with here. Seeing the ocean always soothes and fills my soul.
  • Bonus question: Do you have any pet peeves? I thought this was going to be an easy question to answer, and I was sure I had a list a mile long, but after thinking about it for a while, and asking the rest of the family for help, I could only come up with a couple of things, and even that took a while. A lot that used to really bug me in the past just doesn’t any more. My biggest pet peeve these days is people who, after standing in a long line at a place where the menu is clearly posted on the wall, and/or it’s easy see what’s available in the refrigerated or bakery case, still haven’t a clue what they want when it’s finally their turn to order and then take their sweet time deciding, holding up the line for everyone else. Like they couldn’t have figured this out while they waited and been ready to go? I also don’t like it when people complain “well, this isn’t the way we do it/have it at xxx” when they’re visiting someplace else. If you want things the same, don’t leave home!

What are your pet peeves? What really ticks you off? And, how was the rest of your week? What good things happened for you?

8 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon 5/15/2016

    • Laura says:

      I totally forgot how crazy it was when Meiling was a senior two years ago, but we were getting ready to move so I guess I had other things on my mind ;-). Everyone here is ready for this school year to be over. WenYu finishes this week; YaYu has a few days to go next week and then we are DONE. Unfortunately, the summer break here is short – just two months.

      Like

  1. Jen says:

    Congrats to WenYu!

    Pet Peeves. That is a fun question. One of my Pet Peeves is when people leave their “garage sale” signs up after the sale is over. I also despise spitting. 🙂

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Agree with you on the garage sale signs! I’m not even going to talk about spitting, although thankfully can’t think of the last time I saw someone do it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

