This Week’s Menu

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos (photo from Allrecipes)

Today begins Clean Out the Refrigerator Week in anticipation of next week’s departure, and this week’s menu goes a long way toward using up everything that might spoil if left here otherwise.

I also am bumping forward two meals from last week’s menu because of Thursday’s l-o-n-g track meet (Brett and the girls didn’t get home until after 9:00 p.m.) and because I just did not feel like cooking last Saturday evening. Brett thought we maybe could go out, but the girls felt they could come up with something on their own, and ended up making themselves ramen bowls while Brett and I ate leftovers.

So, this week Bulgar Mexican and Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos are again on the menu. The burritos are truly delicious, and if you think you wouldn’t like a sweet potato burrito, be prepared to think otherwise! The recipe below makes a dozen burritos, but these days I cut everything in half, which still gives us a couple of extra burritos for the girls’ breakfast the next morning.

ADDICTIVE SWEET POTATO BURRITOS

  • 3 tsp vegetable oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • 6 cups canned kidney or pinto beans, drained
  • 2 cups water
  • 3 TBSP chili powder
  • 2 tsp powdered cumin
  • 4 tsp prepared mustard
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 4 TBSP soy sauce
  • 4 cups cooked and mashed sweet potato
  • 12 10-inch flour tortillas
  • 8 oz. grated Monterey Jack or cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Heat oil in a medium skillet, and saute onions and garlic until soft. Add beans and mash well. Gradually stir in water, and heat until thick and warm. Remove from heat and stir in chili powder, cumin, mustard, cayenne pepper (if using) and soy sauce. Divide bean mixture and mashed sweet potatoes evenly between the warm tortillas; place next to the lower edge and top with grated cheese. Fold over tightly, fold in sides and then fold over again to close. Bake for 12 minutes in the oven and serve warm. Chopped green onion and sour cream go well with these burritos. (If you are going to freeze for later use, do not bake the burritos. Wrap each burrito individually in foil, and then place in a bag for freezing.)

Here’s what we’re eating this week:

  • Tonight: Bulgar Mexicana. No cheese or sour cream for me, and I’ll top mine with sprouts instead of lettuce.
  • Thursday: Track meet tonight so it’s a YOYO (You’re On Your Own) night for everyone.
  • Friday: Panzanella (bread salad) with vegetables and garbanzo beans. I’m not adding feta cheese this time so the salad will be vegan for everyone.
  • Saturday: Sweet potato burritos; Mexican rice; salad. No cheese for me.
  • Sunday: Chicken potstickers with rice; Asian-style coleslaw. I’ll be having sesame-peanut noodles instead of potstickers.
  • Monday: Killer noodle salad with shredded chicken. No chicken for me, but otherwise it’s all good.
  • Tuesday: Crunchy and spicy baked tofu with assorted dipping sauces; some kind of coleslaw to use up the cabbage; steamed rice.

The crispy baked tofu was a HUGE hit when I made it week before last and I have been asked several times if we can have it again. I put out several different dipping sauces for the tofu cubes – barbecue sauce, ranch dressing, spicy Thai mango sauce, teriyaki sauce, sriracha, wasabi mayonnaise, and ketchup – and all went great with the tofu. I tossed the tofu cubes in vegetable oil before coating them in the panko bread crumbs and then sprayed with Pam before baking. The girls thought though that instead of fixing one 14-ounce block of tofu this next time I really should fix three – they liked it that much.

Mary will be posting tomorrow with an excerpt from her book about her travels in India. It’s on my bucket list of places to visit so I’m looking forward to reading about her experience.

3 thoughts on “This Week’s Menu

  1. Jen says:

    Ok, I rarely try new recipes but I am going to make those burritos because I just have to–the photo looks really tasty and I want to try them. Loving how you are incorporating your current vegan diet into the family plan. My 15 year-old has gone vegetarian for the past year and it has been tough to feed all 5 of us so I love to see how you work it in. How do you make your Mexican rice?

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I use Vigo brand Mexican rice. Maybe not authentic, but there are no additives or preservatives, and I can fix it in the rice cooker. Vigo makes a whole line of rice mixes – we like them all (I get them here through Amazon prime).

      The burritos are very, very tasty. I’m really looking forward to them again. If you want to save time you can use canned sweet potatoes, but be sure to make sure there’s no added sugar. I can’t find unsweetened ones here, so I just bake my own and then mash them.

      Like

  2. Janice Kelly says:

    Just made the sweet potato burrito recipe. It was a HUGE hit! With a family of five it can be almost impossible to get everyone on board -especially when it comes to healthy food. Thank You!

    Like

Leave a Reply

