This Week’s Menu Plan

Crispy orange ginger tofu with broccoli

Crispy orange ginger tofu with broccoli

Well, last week went exactly as planned, but I’m not entirely sure I can repeat my success this week . . . we’ll see.

We have two special family events going on this week: Chinese New Year today and WenYu’s birthday on Friday, with special meals planned for both. We’re also hoping to get together for dinner on Tuesday with friends Denise and Jim up where they’re staying, but still have to coordinate with them about what we’ll be having (and what the girls will have at home).

I’m also going to try out two new vegan recipes this week. Both contain tofu, but our whole family likes it so I don’t think it will be a problem because both recipes sound delicious. I’ll personally be having a LOT of tofu this week.

Here’s what’s planned:

  • Monday: Crispy orange ginger tofu with broccoli; steamed rice. This looks delicious and the orange sauce makes it a good fit for the Chinese New Year. Oranges are traditionally served at CNY because the word for orange sounds like “wealth” and the bright orange color symbolizes gold and is auspicious for bringing good fortune. Fresh, locally grown broccoli was at the farmers’ market last week.
  • Tuesday: ??? We’ll be hopefully getting together with D & J tonight and will have a plan for what we’re having by dinner time.
  • Wednesday: Barbecue pulled pork sandwiches and cole slaw. I will simmer some fried tofu in barbecue sauce for my sandwich.
  • Thursday: Grilled teriyaki chicken; zaru soba; cucumber salad. I will substitute hiyayakko (chilled tofu) for the chicken.
  • Friday: Macaroni & cheese; green beans. It’s WenYu’s birthday and this is what she requested. I’m not sure yet what I’ll have. I’ll also bake a chocolate cake of some kind.
  • Saturday: Drunken noodles with tofu and peppers. This is another new recipe that I’ve been dying to try out. It looks delicious, and we all love noodles. Hopefully it won’t be too incredibly spicy (I will probably leave out the Thai chili – they are HOT).
  • Sunday: Cheeseburger pie; French fries; salad. I will have a bowl of lentil soup and some of the fries and vegetable.

We’ll see how it goes!

5 thoughts on “This Week’s Menu Plan

  1. Erica says:

    When my vegan son saw a nutritionist one of the things we learned was that too much tofu isn’t a good thing. She recommended tempeh as a better type of soy protein. Apparently the way in which it’s processed is better. I don’t know the details (and like all nutrition advice out there it may or not be accurate…) but thought I’d share in case you were interested in other soy protein products.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Laura says:

      I have tried tempeh and just don’t like it. Not sure why either. This week is unusual with tofu showing up so much for me, but none of my servings will be particularly large so I’m not too worried. I should be back down to “normal” levels by next week.

      Like

  2. M'Shell says:

    Happy Chinese New Years! All of the recipes look really good. I’ve cooked with tofu once or twice and it didn’t go well. I’d like to try it again and I think the crispy orange ginger tofu sounds like a great recipe. I love ginger and orange together! How do you press the tofu?

    Like

    • Laura says:

      The orange-ginger tofu was delicious. I will definitely be making it again! We all like the pan-fried tofu: crispy on the outside, but soft and fluffy like a marshmallow inside.

      I pressed the tofu by placing the block of it on a kitchen towel, covering with another towel and then putting a cookie sheet on top. On top of the cookie sheet I placed a very heavy canister of sugar, and then let it sit for about 25 minutes.

      Like

      • M'Shell says:

        So glad to hear it was a winning recipe! I will book-mark it for the future. Thanks for the tip for pressing the tofu. Maybe that step was the reason my other tries with tofu didn’t turn out great.

        Like

Leave a Reply

