Sunday Afternoon 1/31/2016

IMG_2805

It was a beautiful day for a swim meet!

We spent over six hours at the pool yesterday for the Kaua’i swim finals. Six hours. In the sun. We got to the pool at 8:00 a.m. and left at 2:30 p.m. I was thankfully under an umbrella most of the time, and wearing a LOT of sunscreen, so didn’t get burned, but it was still hot, hot, hot. The meet ended on a high note too: the girls’ team won the championship by 47 points! And now it’s on to track & field . . . .

Today is the final day of what has been a very good month, and a good start to my “one month at a time” plan for the year. I’m more than ready to get going on February. Continuing on with eating vegan is a no-brainer because I’ve enjoyed it this past month and I feel great. This month’s “goal” is to try at least three new vegan recipes, ones I think the whole family will enjoy. I’m also going to keep on with the daily bike riding as well, 15 minutes twice a day, but will give myself a little more resistance on the bike starting tomorrow, to kick things up a notch.

Otherwise, this afternoon I am:

  • Reading: I’m a little over half way through Dennis Lehane’s The Given Day and it’s a terrific book, a genuine page-turner. I’m already looking forward to the next two books of the series.
  • Listening to: There’s a gentle rain falling this morning, and Brett and the girls are reading, so it’s very, very quiet around here. I can still hear some birds singing, but that’s it. The rain is appreciated – we’ve had a very dry winter here.
  • Watching: We’re of course watching Downton Abbey and Mercy Street tonight. Brett and I have been watching Making A Murderer on Netflix. It’s been an extremely intriguing show and has given us lots to talk about, but I have felt from the start that the filmmakers have an agenda (because all documentaries have an agenda), and I’d like to know more about the case and Steven Avery beyond what’s been presented. I feel there’s more to the story than what’s being shared in the film, and having sat on a jury for a criminal case (thankfully not murder though) I’m interested in how the jury reached their decision. We’ll watch the last episode tonight and then need to find something new to watch.
  • Cooking/baking: I made sausage and eggs for the girls’ breakfast this morning, what they were supposed to have for dinner last night. I ended up making big chef’s salads for Brett and the girls yesterday because we made a big salad for the after-meet potluck, but no one brought plates or forks so there was no way for anyone to eat salad and we ended up bringing it home. We’re having spaghetti and meatballs (vegan for me) and more of the salad for dinner tonight; the girls will be making the meatballs later this afternoon.
  • Happy I accomplished last week: Brett and I got all the screens vacuumed and windows cleaned – compared to our last house this chore is a breeze here. I also got quite a bit more cleaned out of the freezer. One more week and we should be able to defrost it!
  • Looking forward to next week: I’m getting together with a friend on Thursday for coffee, and then on Friday Brett and I are having breakfast with faithful reader and friend Denise and her husband at the Kountry Kitchen followed by a hike along the coast. I can’t wait – we’ve been waiting a year for them to come back to Kaua’i!
  • Grateful for: I’m feeling very grateful these days for my exercise bike. The daily bike rides have been a great way for me to fit in exercise, and I enjoy being able to ride “outside,” both in the morning and the evening. I know that if I had tried to stick with the early morning walks I would have given up by now, but with the bike riding I can sleep in a little later, the 15 minute sessions are easy to fit in, and the exercise is low impact so no joint or other pain.Mercedes-Benz_230_SL,_Bj._1964_(2009-05-01)
  • Bonus question: If an anonymous stranger was going to buy you a car, what would you ask for? The Adventures of Travel Penguin asked this question today and it didn’t take me more than a moment to come up with an answer: a 1963 Mercedes 230 SL. I am not a “car person,” but I have always loved the sleek look of this particular car. Hopefully my anonymous benefactor will also make sure it’s white ;-). Second choice would be a Karman Ghia from the early 1970s. I loved the orange ones back then, but these days I would prefer either white or something in blue.

Hope you are all having a wonderful Sunday afternoon! How was your week?

15 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon 1/31/2016

  1. JJ says:

    My nephew runs track. I’ve never been to a swim meet but I guess they can go on for hours, just like track meets. Around here, we have winter track (indoors) but there aren’t a lot of indoor tracks so there aren’t a lot of meets. Winter track only has another couple of weeks left and then we’ll be on to spring track, which as a spectator I enjoy a lot more.

    I agree about documentaries and agendas. I didn’t watch the one about the murderer because the topic just didn’t interest me, but I wish someone would do a balanced documentary one of these days.

    I have an exercise bike and it’s a real godsend during the winter months. You’ve reminded me that I need to get my ride in for the day, so off I go!

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Track is the girls’ least favorite sport; in fact, I asked WenYu if she was even going to bother this year (she has SO MUCH work this term), but she said yes, that she likes the exercise. Same for YaYu. They both are distance runners, so I rarely go to their meets because those races are always run at the end. Brett is a good “sports dad” though – he goes to practices and meets and always helps out.

      I tried to keep an open mind with “Making A Murderer” but felt from the beginning like I was being spoon-fed facts, with lots left out. I would probably be that person the defense did NOT want on the jury, and my own time on a jury taught me that people do not always take police evidence at face value – we dismissed a lot, but not all, of what the police presented as evidence, but still found the defendant guilty in the end. I think the term “balanced documentary” is an oxymoron!

      Like

      • JJ says:

        My nephew is a junior and is a sprinter. Before he was on the spring track team last year, he played baseball his freshman year but didn’t make the baseball team his sophomore year, so he tried track and ended up being pretty good at it; good enough to get a varsity letter. There is a lot of competition around here in track so I was impressed. During the winter last year he was on the JV basketball team, but this year he decided to try winter track. He’s a little too short to play basketball anymore and the good thing about sports like track is it doesn’t matter how tall you are, or how much time you spend lifting weights, so it’s a good fit for him. It’s funny but around here distance events are always mixed in between the sprints and hurdles so I’m always trying to time it so I’ll see my nephew’s events, but it doesn’t always work and I end up getting there too early and sitting around for long periods of time, lol. Oh well. I like to go to the events because I figure they’re only this age once and I like sports anyway, so I actually enjoy it.

        I agree about the workload kids have these days. I don’t remember having as much schoolwork plus all the other things they have to do like sports, volunteer things, taking those SAT/ACT. I don’t know how they do it.

        Like

      • Laura says:

        Track is the girls’ least favorite sport, but they like the exercise so stick with it. I went to a few meets back in Portland, but hated sitting there for hours until WenYu got to run in her races (800m, 1500m or 3000m). Cross country meets are long as well, and here they’re early on Saturday mornings. Ugh. Brett always goes and volunteers – he loves finally having the time and opportunity to be involved (neither or son nor Meiling did HS sports).

        The workload for kids these days is INSANE, and expectations are so high. I’m hoping WenYu can relax a bit when she goes to college. YaYu’s load is just starting to spool up though – she has two more years of this to go . . . .

        Like

  2. Hawaii Planner says:

    It was a super mellow & relaxing day at our house. I worked out, made bread & homemade pizza, and taco meat for the freezer. We also worked a bit more on our 2016 travel plans, which was a fun way to spend an afternoon. 🙂

    Like

    • Laura says:

      So happy to read about you getting time with your family. Did you have a good trip to Tokyo?

      Making bread and pizza dough sounds super relaxing to me, but I guess I’ve gotten too acclimated here to even think of baking bread or a pizza (well, we could do pizzas out on the grill).

      And, making travel plans is always fun! It’s my favorite thing to do!

      Like

    • Laura says:

      She does have a website and I know I’ve pinned some recipes from there. I have collected quite a few vegan recipes on Pinterest – now it’s time to start trying them out!

      Like

    • Laura says:

      We’re super excited about seeing you both on Friday. I’m still trying to figure out what I’ll eat because NOTHING at KK is vegan except maybe a fruit plate!

      Neither of my dream cars screams “tourist,” do they?

      Like

  3. Vivian Gibson says:

    I have been on juries 9 times, both civil and criminal cases. One was a DUI manslaughter with 4 counts of negligence. We finally found the guy guilty on all counts but it was very contentious and one juror was not speaking to us by the end. Didn’t find out until the newspaper printed it the next day that the guy was driving without a license. The Judge had suppressed that information. I don’t know why. It would have been much easier if we had known. At least we managed to make the correct decision with the information that was available.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I found the time I served on the jury to be very meaningful and instructive. It’s not like TV at all, and you have a great responsibility to “get it right.” The case I was on was a drug case, and in the end we found the defendant not guilty on two charges because we believed the police had tried to entrap him, but we found him guilty on two other charges, the ones for selling drugs. There was one woman on the jury who said he was guilty of everything the moment she walked into the jury room and then spent her time during deliberations knitting over in the corner and refused to discuss anything. There were two other people who refused to discuss anything or convict for anything because of the police, even though there was no doubt about the drug sales and the entrapment counts were separate from the drug selling counts. We only needed a majority to convict, not the full 12, so thankfully we were able to reach a verdict for all four counts. Other than those three, the rest of us took the process very seriously – it took us two days of discussion and deliberation before we reached our verdict.

      Like

      • JJ says:

        I just got a summons for grand jury duty. I’ve never done that before but I hear it’s different from petit jury duty, which I have done. I guess grand juries decide whether there is enough evidence to send a case to trial so there is no determining guilt or innocence.

        Like

Leave a Reply

