Sunday Afternoon 1/24/2016

12562870_10153902020566602_307139022_o

Our Trader Joe’s care package that will be arriving soon :-)!

It’s another gorgeous Sunday here on Kaua’i. Although I would love to go to the beach for a while, Brett wants to go hiking and do some trail maintenance, and I have laundry as well as a couple of other chores to take care of so I’ll be hanging out at home today. I can always put up my umbrella, and sit with my book and some iced tea out in the yard if I want some sun.

We spent five hours yesterday afternoon at the pool. Five hours. It was the last meet of the year for the county high schools (all four of them), but because of some issues with the timing equipment the meet dragged on much longer than usual. Brett and I were thankfully prepared with comfortable chairs, an umbrella for shade, and a cooler full of drinks and healthy snacks. I had on plenty of sunscreen as well, another good thing because my doctor showed up half way through (her son is on the girls’ team) and I would have heard from her if I hadn’t been sufficiently protected from the sun. The other parents at the meet were great company, the girls’ team did well, and both girls had good races. YaYu swam like she had rockets on her feet for the 50m freestyle – that girl can sprint! The finals will be held next week and swimmers for the state tournament chosen, but the girls won’t know until Tuesday which races they’ll be in.

This afternoon I am:

  • Reading: I’ll finish A God In Ruins tonight. It’s been a great book, one of those ones I almost don’t want to end. Next up is Dennis Lehane’s The Given Day. It’s the first of a three-book series, and the third book, World Gone By, is considered by many critics to be one of 2015’s best books. I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve ever read by Lehane (with Mystic River and Shutter Island on top) so am looking forward to getting started on this series.
  • Listening to: It’s been a very quiet morning here. The girls are tired from yesterday so are quieter than usual, and Brett has been reading. Only one lone mower is going in the neighborhood. I sometimes can’t get over how much quieter this neighborhood is compared to our old one, especially the lack of noise from the chickens and roosters. We can hear them, but they’re background noise versus front and center like they were before.
  • Watching: More Downton Abbey tonight followed by another episode of Mercy Street. I wasn’t exactly grabbed by the premier last week, but I’m going to give it a few more tries to see if I can get into it. Brett and I finally finished all the available Murdoch Mysteries, but they ended with a cliffhanger so of course now we can’t wait for the next season. We started watching River on Netflix, and last night rented the movie Mr. Brooks (with Kevin Costner) because we all wanted to watch something creepy.
  • Cooking/baking: Last night I made up a pan of pecan sticky bun french toast for Brett and the girls so all Brett had to do was stick it in the oven this morning. It smelled heavenly, but I was good and had naan bread with peanut butter and a papaya instead. We’re having grilled hot dogs (vegan for me), macaroni & cheese, and coleslaw for dinner tonight.
  • Happy I accomplished last week: Getting all of us everywhere we needed to be on time and still getting to the beach twice. It was a crazy week for everyone in the family when it came to schedules and appointments. I also did not miss a day getting in my two 15-minute rides on the exercise bicycle.
  • Looking forward to next week: Not having any appointments other than heading up to the clinic one morning for a fasting blood draw (my annual cholesterol check). I’m hoping to get together with a couple of friends for either breakfast or lunch, and for good weather again so Brett and I can get to the beach.
  • Grateful for: I’m feeling especially grateful right now for friends who are willing to bring over items for us from Trader Joe’s when they come to Kaua’i. It’s the one mainland store I miss, and there are no replacements here for several of their items. Faithful reader and friend Denise and her husband are heading over to Kaua’i soon (yeah!!) and I am feeling extremely thankful she is willing to bring us over a few Trader Joe’s items. What she’s bringing should keep us for quite a while!
  • Bonus question: When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up? My secret goal growing up was to marry Prince Charles and become the Queen of England. I wanted to wear the tiaras. And then I thought I might become an artist, but that dream ended when I accepted that I could barely draw a stick figure (I love color though, and am good at putting colors together and arranging things). My family’s dream for me was that I become a nurse, and so I headed down that path until mid-way through college I realized that even though I liked working in hospitals, nursing was everyone else’s dream for me and not my own. It took me a while to figure out that what I wanted to do was stay home and raise my children and take care of my home and family. I got an advanced degree and worked as an ESL instructor for many years, but my teaching never overwhelmed my life or got in the way like my mother’s job had when I and my siblings were growing up.

I hope all of you are enjoying your Sunday afternoon? What are you up to today?

4 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon 1/24/2016

  1. Jen says:

    You chose to “Raise your children and take care of your home and family”. Thanks for saying that. I have been home with my kids for 15 years and there is so little support out there. Although I know I am doing the right thing for my family, it is nice to hear from someone else that they made the same choice.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Growing up, I only knew one other person whose mother had a job, and that’s because her father had died and her mother had to work. I know my mother had to work for our family to afford where we lived, but she also wanted to work and enjoyed it. For her staying home and raising a family would have been stifling. Interestingly, all my childhood friends whose mother’s didn’t work grew up to have careers; I was the one (and my sister as well, at least for a while) who wanted to stay home to raise our children and take care of our family.

      Choosing to stay home, and choosing a career that didn’t interfere with my family’s needs wasn’t aways easy for us, but it was the right choice for me and our family for a variety of reasons. We could have been a LOT better off financially, both in the past and now, if I had worked more. I was often lonely, the only mom I knew who wasn’t working (there seem to be more women now not working than there were when our son was young).

      We do/did what is/was right for us, and for our family. Everyone’s choice deserves respect.

      Like

  2. Vivian Gibson says:

    I wanted to be an astronaut but girls weren’t allowed to do that back then. I also wanted to take shop instead of home ed. Wasn’t allowed to do that either. The guidance counselors at the time were anything but helpful. The black counselor refused to talk with me because I was white and the white counselor actively discouraged any dreams I had. It wasn’t much better in college where the professor didn’t see any point in teaching girls because we were simply there to ” find a husband”. When I was out in the working world I took a programming course at the local college and the professor told me I shouldn’t allow a man to do my work for me. I explained that I was the only one in the office and did all my own work. I don’t think he believed me.
    My parents wanted me to be a teacher. I think they felt that was the best a woman could do. If I had children, I would have stayed home and taken care of them and then gone to work. That is one of the most important jobs there is.
    It’s amazing how the world has changed. I’m so glad your daughters have the freedom to do whatever they want.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I was the first girl in our district to take wood shop! I took it during summer school, and got into the class because my mom taught at the middle school and knew the teacher. It was way more interesting than home ec, and I built a bookshelf and a lamp!

      The only three “career” options open for women when I was in high school were teacher, nurse or secretary. You went to college to get your “MRS” degree. The newspaper had two sections in the help wanted ads, one for men and one for women. There were no women’s sports in high school other than tennis. It was a very different time. Why people think things were “better” back then than they are now is beyond me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

