This Week’s Menu Plan

17-Yakisoba-amb-Verdures-960x435

Yakisoba with vegetables

Fresh sweet basil isn’t always available at the farmers’ market, so when one of my favorite vendors had some last week I bought it, and a quick change was made to the menu plan in order to use it: hot dogs were swapped out for Martha Stewart’s One Pan Pasta, which the girls had been requesting. Also, I forgot that WenYu and YaYu would be at their swim team spaghetti dinner on Friday evening (I’m not sure how I could forget this- we provide garlic bread every week!), so Brett and I enjoyed leftovers that evening, and will do the same again this Friday.

Once again I am happy to write that I am thoroughly enjoying eating vegan, and still have yet to miss having animal products in my diet. I’m continually finding things that are compatible with veganism – this past weekend I discovered that Starbuck’s cocoa mix contains no animal products, and makes a delicious treat when mixed with vanilla soy milk. I was initially planning to add animal products back into my diet next month, but now I’m thinking I might just keep going vegan for a while longer. I am eating w-a-y more fruits and vegetables than I did in the past, a lot less sugar, and I feel terrific!

Here’s what’s for dinner this week:

  • Monday: Tuna noodle casserole. The family loves it, but I’m going to have lentil soup and bread.
  • Tuesday: Tofu and broccoli in spicy peanut sauce with rice. This long-time family favorite meal is already vegan.
  • Wednesday: Bulgar Mexicana. This is seasoned bulgar pilaf topped with traditional taco condiments: shredded lettuce, chopped tomatoes, avocado, grated cheese, salsa, sour cream and cilantro. It’s another long-time favorite recipe that, other than the addition of cheese and sour cream, is already vegan.
  • Thursday: Grilled hot dogs, macaroni &cheese and coleslaw. I bought some vegan hot dogs which I hope will be as good as the vegan Italian sausage was last week. The coleslaw will be made with vegan mayonnaise.
  • Friday: Leftovers for Brett and I.
  • Saturday: Yakisoba with cabbage, onions, red pepper and carrots. My portion will have fried tofu; Brett and the girls will get stir-fried chicken. I’ll be using Japanese Bulldog sauce to make this – it tastes the same as Worcestershire sauce but is vegan.
  • Sunday: Sushi. I’m going to fix inari sushi (vinegared rice in fried tofu pouches) and kappamaki (cucumber roll) which are both vegan. We’ll pick up some nigiri sushi (raw fish) at the market for Brett and the girls, but I’ll have hayayakko: chilled silken tofu topped with soy sauce, ginger and diced green onions.

Things can of course change again, but I think we’ll probably stick to this menu pretty closely this week. I’m going make a big bowl of tabouli salad later today to use up the last of some mint and parsley and will eat that for lunches this week, but there’s also leftover beans and mashed sweet potato from last week’s burritos to enjoy as well (YaYu turned up her nose at those last week but ended up eating two of them and asking for more!)

4 thoughts on “This Week’s Menu Plan

  1. Denise says:

    I’m curious if you have a more difficult time handling raw meat now? I’ve been eating a lot more vegetarian meals and I get a little grossed out, especially with chicken. Thankfully, with the program I’m on now, I’m just making my own meals, and Jim and the boys handle their own!

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I really haven’t had to deal with raw meat . . . yet. Brett’s taken care of it because it’s all been grilled. I will have to mess with a chicken breast when I make the yakisoba though – can honestly say I am not looking forward to it.

      Yesterday I caught myself almost licking my fingers after serving everyone else a piece of birthday cake – that frosting (cream cheese and butter) was definitely NOT vegan!

      Like

Leave a Reply

