Sunday Afternoon 1/3/2016

P1080572

My nourishment the past three days: water, teas, and carrot, pomegranate and watermelon juices (and coffee).

The first Sunday of 2016!

So far our new year has been off to a good start. The girls are still home on break; they go back to school on Wednesday. Brett and I have been taking care of small chores around the house, putting things away, cleaning, etc. I still greatly miss having the rest of the family around though. WenYu and YaYu had their first swim meet of the year yesterday morning (there was a major screw-up on Oahu with the district sports calendar which pushed the whole island swim season back into the break); they did well and are off to a good start.

I’m on day three of my juice fast and so far, so good. While I feel good, I also admit to feeling hungry a lot of the time, and am looking forward to easing back into “real” food tomorrow. Authentic hunger sure feels a whole lot different from “oh look, it’s time to eat” or variations on that, and I find myself fantasizing about food more than I’d like. I’ve also given a lot of thought to what it must be like to feel hungry all the time, with no end in sight. Coffee, it turns out, is still a necessity – after trying to cut back I ended up with a wicked caffeine-withdrawal headache on Friday, so am now pacing myself with small cups throughout the day.

I’ve been up between 6:00 and 6:30 a.m. since Friday for a 20 minute walk. It’s still a bit dark, but cool, quiet and perfect for walking. When I come home I climb back into bed, sleep for another couple of hours, and wake up feeling great! I’ve been feeling good enough that I’ve also taken an afternoon walk the past two days. The only downside has been that we live at the bottom of what has turned out to be a fairly steep hill (which never seemed all that steep when I was in the car), so setting off each time has been a bit of a challenge. I know it will get easier over time though. However, on the plus side it’s downhill all the way home. Walks back in Portland were the opposite: downhill on the way out, and uphill all the way home which was its own kind of misery.

This afternoon I am:

  • Reading: I’m a little over two-thirds of the way through Look Who’s Back, by Timur Vermus, originally published in Germany. It’s a satirical but somewhat humorous novel about what happens when Adolf Hitler wakes up in modern Berlin (he’s apparently only been in a coma since the end of the war). Both Hitler and the German people are baffled: Hitler by the changes to Germany and Berlin, the Germans by the “consummate” Hitler impersonator that becomes a TV and Internet star. I’m more than a little curious about how things will turn out. It’s a very good book, and I can see why it was a best-seller in Germany.
  • Listening to: There are birds singing outside, but mostly it’s just very quiet around here. I love it.
  • Watching: Tonight it’s all about Downton Abbey. WenYu and I have reserved seats on the sofa.
  • Cooking/baking: The girls and Brett will handle all the cooking today. They’re planning a meal around a tray of spanakopita leftover in the freezer. For me it’s still just juice, etc.
  • Happy I accomplished last week: YaYu and I worked together and made a photo book for my mom, using photos of the family from throughout the year as well as from our family photo session last month. We’re both very pleased with how it turned out and think Mom/Grandma will enjoy it. I also finally bought new slippahs (flip flops) to replace the ones I bought on our trip here in 2012 and which had completely worn out. Locals (my favorite brand) are still just $4.95/pair at Walmart.
  • Looking forward to next week: We’ll be settling back into our regular routines again beginning on Wednesday, although I’ll still be getting up early to walk. I’m looking forward to attending the girls’ swim meet next Saturday. Their school is hosting this time and there will be a big potluck for the team afterwards, which are always fun (but still vegan only for me).
  • Grateful for: I’m feeling very blessed these days that we moved to Kaua’i. I truly love our island home and its friendly and generous people, relaxed lifestyle and beautiful scenery. Last night I fell asleep to the scent of gardenia blossoms wafting on the breeze, and on this morning’s walk I was greeted by other neighbors that were up. It continues to be all we hoped for and more.
  • Bonus Question: What’s your favorite New Year’s memory? I grew up within walking distance of the Rose Parade in Pasadena, but for several years my dad was the officer in charge (OIC) at the Pasadena Naval Reserve Center on New Year’s Day, where the parade ended. One of his many duties was to ensure that everyone coming off the floats was taken quickly to a bathroom – that was always the first thing they asked for! The Reserve Center always hosted a fabulous buffet and reception for the Grand Marshall and invited guests and I was able to meet, or at least view up close many of the celebrities that had been in the parade (my favorite was Walt Disney, a very nice man).

Hope you are all enjoying a relaxing Sunday afternoon. Here’s to all of us having a fantastic 2016!

7 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon 1/3/2016

  1. Libby says:

    I’m so impressed with your juicing will power 🙂 You go girl!

    The weather has turned cold here. Reading about the scent of gardenias is making me very jealous!

    My favorite NYE memory is from my senior year in HS. One of my friends had a come dressed as someone/something from the 1970’s costume party. I went as Miss Piggy. Others were Rosanne-Rosanna Danna, a Cone Head, a piece of Sky Lab, a protester, a Watergate Bug, etc. I’m still friends with this group and we laugh at the photos!

    Can’t wait for Downton!

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Eagerly awaiting Downton tonight! It normally runs at 9:00 pm, but for some reason starts at 8:00 pm tonight – I’m glad I checked!

      I will be glad to be over with the fast tomorrow. Sometimes I think I’ve missed the act of eating more than the actual food, but then I remember that I am truly hungry and really would like to eat again.

      Like

  2. Joy Franks says:

    Well, you inspired me to walk down to the overlook and back on the path. Except, I forgot to tell Les and he was looking all over for me! The main thing is that I did it and survived. I need to do this more often. I posted some pictures on Facebook. (I made sure I took pictures so I could prove that I did it.)

    Like

  3. Hawaii Planner says:

    Super impressed that you can handle a juicing fast. I’d kill someone – I’m a bit “prickly” when my blood sugar drops. 😉 I am focused on eating much better in January, 5 fruits & vegetables & all of that. Good luck!

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Other than feeling hungry, I felt pretty good during the fast, so I guess I was drinking enough juice at the right times to keep my blood sugar levels even. I’m eating again today, but not going crazy, and no meat, eggs or dairy for the next month which means more vegetables. I’m feeling kind of tired today, but think that’s from catching up after fasting for three days. The whole experience got me thinking a lot about what it means to be hungry, what it feels like, etc.

      Like

Leave a Reply

