Sunday Afternoon 10/11/2015

We drowned our sorrows in gelato one day (blood orange & Belgian chocolate for me)

We drowned our sorrows in gelato one day (blood orange & Belgian chocolate for me!)

We are not buying the condo.

It was perfect for us, had no obvious problems, and we could afford it, but an unexpected financial conflict arose and we had to make a decision. Brett and I went through a very low couple of days, but have picked ourselves up and are actually feeling a bit relieved now. I’ll have a post up tomorrow explaining all. Life goes on, and life is still good. We know we made the right decision.

Otherwise all is humming along as it should. Brett is home again, we’ve enjoyed having the girls home all week for fall break, and the summer heat and humidity has broken. We’re turning our focus to the upcoming holiday season, and have started our Christmas shopping. Meiling is doing well in school, and WenYu is taking a much-deserved break from the college application process for a couple of weeks while she waits to see if she makes it into the next round for the scholarship. She and YaYu finish up their cross country season this coming week, and then will transition directly into swimming.

This afternoon I am:

  • Reading: I’m almost done with Atomic Sushi. I have what I think will be an interesting mystery on deck: A Pleasure and A Calling.
  • Listening to: Once again it’s a very quiet morning here at Casa Aloha. I’m listening to soft breezes blowing through the palms and birds chirping outside. It’s going to get noisier though in a short while as we pack up to head to the beach!
  • Watching: WenYu and I finished up Season 4 of American Horror Story (Freakshow) last night. Very, very creepy, and we loved every minute of it. I almost wish we had cable so we could be watching Season 5 (Hotel), which just began this past week. Brett and I have settled back in with Lewis and Midsomer Murders again.
  • Cooking/baking: I have chicken and salsa in the slow cooker, and I’ll shred the chicken later for some soft tacos tonight which we’ll have along with rice and beans.
  • Happy I accomplished this week: Not a huge accomplishment, but I finally made and froze five dozen individual balls of chocolate chip cookie dough, something I’ve been threatening to do for several weeks. Brett can pull out a few pieces of the dough and bake them in the morning to put in the girls’ lunches, or we can bake up a few when we want some cookies. If I just bake cookies they disappear in a couple of days.
  • Looking forward to next week: A spa day! Good friend J and I are meeting at a local day spa on Thursday for a day of pampering. I’m going to have a (much-needed) manicure and pedicure while J has a facial. We’ll have lunch there, and she arranged day passes for us as well so we can take advantage of their soaking pools and swimming pool. It should be a relaxing, fun day, and J and I never run out of things to talk about! (Brett is going to go do some trail maintenance while I’m being spoiled).
  • Grateful for: I am so thankful we live in Hawai’i. Our start here hasn’t been perfect, but I can’t imagine being anywhere else these days.
  • Bonus question: What’s the dumbest thing you’ve ever done? When I was 22 years old, I drove with my then-boyfriend down to Mazatlán, Mexico, for spring break. We were, to put it mildly, flat broke and had no business traveling anywhere, so I now look back on the experience with horror as well as wonder that we made it back alive. Mazatlán was a two-day drive away, and we slept the first night right out on the beach in Guaymas because we couldn’t afford a hotel. Thankfully (and somewhat unbelievably) no one bothered us, but I woke up with a wicked sore throat. We made it down to Mazatlán the next day, stopping at little taco stands along the way where we thankfully had some delicious meals for very few pesos. In Mazatlán we drove past all the fancy beachfront hotels where others were staying on break, and checked ourselves in an old and worn, but clean (and cheap) hotel on the far end of the seafront area. In spite of our poverty, we had a fun time, but my sore throat kept getting worse, and one night I decided to stay in and sent my boyfriend out to party with friends. I fell asleep, but woke up a couple of hours later unable to breathe – my throat had almost swollen shut. I somehow got some warm salt water down my throat which helped reduce the swelling, but after my boyfriend returned we decided to head for home. But, somewhere out in the desert in the middle of nowhere in Mexico, the engine in the car blew up. We were miles from anything, didn’t speak other than very basic Spanish, and had just a few dollars between us. And here is why I believe in guardian angels: While we were sitting out there in the middle of nowhere in a near panic, a man drove up in a pickup truck (with a gun in the back) and asked if we needed help. We hesitantly explained our situation, told him we had no money, and he told us to wait and said he would be back. He showed up about an hour later with a tow bar and hooked up our car, and we headed off for the border. It turned out he was a rancher, and had business on both sides of the border. He towed us all the way up and into the U.S, and asked for nothing in return, saying before he drove off that he had been happy to help. How often does that happen? My boyfriend and I had been sure we were going to die out there in the desert, or killed when this guy showed up. I have since never traveled that I didn’t have sufficient funds and a solid way to get home if something goes wrong. (It also turned out I had contracted a terrific case of strep throat, and the boyfriend later revealed himself to be a truly awful person.)

How is your Sunday afternoon going? How was your week?

2 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon 10/11/2015

  1. Janette says:

    I am sorry the Princeling did not pan out. Hope it is something that will work out later.
    That WAS a terrifying story. Your guardian was working double overtime!

    Like

Leave a Reply

