Sunday Afternoon 8/30/2015

11227668_1121441371203913_6977975113905518297_o

Here we go again. I swear it’s almost like we’re living in Storm Central this summer. Ignacio, a Category 4 hurricane will approach the Big Island this evening, although will most likely pass on the north side. It will still be close enough as it continues to the north that we’ll get plenty of wind and rain. Hurricane Jimena, right behind Ignacio, is expected to strengthen to Category 5 in the next couple of days, but so far no one knows whether Hawai’i will be in its path or not. It’s still one scary storm though. And, as you can see from the picture above, another big storm is forming up in the east, right behind Jimena. And, that storm that’s off to the west of the islands is Kilo, which thankfully couldn’t get its act together while it was near to us. It turned to the west and is now a Category 3 hurricane, with winds over 125 mph. I tell ya, all this waiting, watching, and worrying about these storms is exhausting! I’ll be so glad (and relieved) when storm season comes to a close.

Our landlord keeps bugging us to buy this house. He’s a real estate agent (sells condos and time shares), and he’s gone into overdrive with us because he’d love to get a quick sale on the house rather than the long wait it’s probably going to be otherwise. We keep politely but firmly saying “no” to his pitches because we really don’t want to buy this property. Hopefully he’ll get the message sooner rather than later and stop bringing it up. Another agent is coming to look at the property on Tuesday to help get it priced and it should be listed soon after. I’m not looking forward to having to go through showings again, although I don’t think there will be all that many.

This afternoon I am:

  • Reading: I downloaded three books to my Kindle yesterday (using an Amazon gift card from Swagbucks) and last night I started To Hell and Back: Last Train From Hiroshima, about life in Hiroshima and Nagasaki before, during and after the atomic bombings. I lived in Hiroshima in the early 70s as an overseas study student, and was able to interview several survivors for my required research project, so the topic is still very interesting to me. I also put Seabiscuit, by Laura Hillenbrand, on hold from the library. I’ve read it twice already, but it’s my second all-time favorite book and I want to read it again (my favorite book ever is Beloved, by Toni Morrison).
  • Listening to: The hum of the fans. It’s going to be another hot, humid day.
  • Watching: Brett and I have greatly been enjoying going through Endeavor, the Inspector Morse prequel. There’s only two seasons available though, so we’ll finish up this week, and then will probably start watching Inspector Lewis. We’re still looking for a non-mystery/detective series to start, but so far nothing has grabbed our attention. In the meantime, murders still are taking place and being solved at an alarming rate on Midsomer Murders.
  • Cooking/baking: I need to bake another batch of blueberry bran muffins today, and YaYu is making chocolate and dulce de leche empanadas for her Spanish class this afternoon. I’ve got Brown Sugar & Garlic Chicken going in the slow cooker, which I will be served with rice and some sort of Asian-y coleslaw for dinner tonight – yum!
  • Happy I accomplished this past week: I finished up another lesson in Rosetta Stone Japanese. This past one was primarily review for me and rather easy, but I did learn a few new vocabulary words and cleared up a couple of grammar points. I don’t think the next lesson coming up will be so kind.
  • Looking forward to next week: We’re meeting with a buyer’s agent tomorrow along with her office’s managing broker and will get started on the house-buying process. We got pre-qualified this past Friday afternoon so we know how much house or condo we can afford, but right now all we can do is look, because the income we will qualify on is based on my future Social Security, which doesn’t start until next January (although it will be officially set up in October).
  • Thankful for: I am so grateful that between current low interest rates, our income and not having any debts we will be able to buy a nice condo here on the island. I honestly did not think we would be able to afford anything here, so it was a very pleasant surprise to find out that we will.P1080391
  • Bonus question: Do you collect anything? I don’t collect anything these days, but when I was young I collected souvenir key chains from all over, and I also collected silver charms from all over the United States which I kept on a bracelet. When we lived in Japan (both times) I collected hashioki (chopstick rests). There were so many available that I limited what I bought to ones that had the color blue in them somewhere. I have over 400 of them; they’re currently sitting in a box under my bed. One of these days I’m going to figure out a way to display them.

How is your Sunday afternoon going? How was your week?

3 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon 8/30/2015

  1. Kathleen Douglass says:

    All those storms & hurricanes heading for the islands make me nervous! We are coming to Kauai in Feb. When Iniki destroyed our condo in Poipu we went on a cruise that year. Not the same thing at all! Hoping for the best for you & your family.

    Like

  2. Vivian says:

    I know how you feel about all the storms. Danny fell apart and so has Erika. Tomorrow and Tuesday is 80% chance of rain (remnants of Erika). Parts of Polk county got almost 7 inches of rain yesterday. We only got two inches but that was on top of 2 1/2 inches the day before. Everything is saturated and the road washed out last night and I tore part of the covering underneath my car trying to get to church this morning. I have now borrowed my fathers truck and hopefully will not have any more problems although it will be an expensive repair to the car. We could use some sunshine but the forecast is not promising.

    I have a charm bracelet. I have a couple of normal charms but most of them were sent to me by my father when he was in the hospital.; So I have two from Hawaii when he was at Tripler General during the Vietnam Era. One from the Philippines, one from DC when he was at Walter Reed. One from Alabama etc.
    I used to collect pewter figurines but have not done so in years. They are displayed in the china cabinet.

    Have you ever watched the original Poldark series with Robin Ellis. I also liked the various Jane Eyre series. I have almost all of them on DVD. Persuasion with Ciaran Hinds. Mostly I like science fiction but you have never expressed an interest in that genre. There is one show called “Now and again” that you might like. It’s premise is sci fi but the characters are all great.

    Hope the storms don’t cause you too many problems.

    Like

  3. Jenny says:

    What is the usual hurricane season for Hawaii? Curious to know so I avoid visiting then!
    We just took our last camping trip of the summer. Nice to get one more weekend away but it was definitely chilly at night!
    I am reading a book you might find interesting: The Good Shufu by Tracy Slater

    Like

Leave a Reply

