Sunday Afternoon 8/2/2015

The sunset from our dining room window

A beautiful sunset from our dining room window

Welcome August!

It will be interesting to see what this coming week brings weather-wise, with Hurricane Guillermo heading toward us. It’s currently a Category 2 storm, but is supposed to be downgraded to a tropical storm in the next couple of days, and pass to the north of the islands. But, things can change and there’s the possibility we might get a direct hit. No matter what, we’ll still be getting plenty of rain, wind (which means high surf), and my favorite (NOT): humidity. I am already so over this summer’s high humidity, but know we have a couple more months to go before it finally dissipates again to manageable levels.

Otherwise, we have slipped right back into our regular school-year routine. Brett gets the girls up, fixes breakfast and makes their lunches, and then I pick up with all the after-school routine. WenYu will probably drive to school a few days this week – she got her official parking permit last week – which means we’ll be stuck at the house on some days, but we’ll see how that goes. Other than our regular outing to the farmers’ market though we don’t have anything special on the calendar this coming week.

This afternoon I am:

  • Reading: I’m still working my way through the The Decagon House Murders. It’s very stark, very Japanese, but I’m doing OK with it. I just downloaded Snow Country from the library, a novel by the Nobel Prize-winning author Yasunari Kawabata, and considered to be his masterpiece.
  • Listening to: It’s a lovely day so far, with a nice breeze blowing, so plenty of people are out and working in their yards. There’s lots of noise from mowers and weed trimmers going on. But, there’s also the cooling sounds of the breeze blowing through the palms outside – my favorite sound on these hot summer days.
  • Watching: I think we may watch Interstellar tonight if we get everything done and organized on time. Brett and I are now into Season Five of Inspector Morse, and this past week I started watching Last Tango in Halifax – love it!
  • Cooking/baking: Brett heated up leftovers for the girls’ breakfast this morning – they’re both volunteering at an island-wide bike ride. Brett and I will finish up more of the leftovers, and then YaYu is going to make Snake Alley Noodles for our dinner tonight. The girls might make some cupcakes later this afternoon when they get back if they’re not too tired from their volunteer experience.

    The view from our living room window

    The view from our living room window

  • Happy I accomplished this last week: I got all my retirement paperwork filled out, and after we get Brett’s signature notarized on one part, and the paperwork filled out at our credit union for the direct rollover of the small savings account, it is ready to go. I should be officially retired as of October 1. I also got all the cushion covers on our sofa off and washed. I’ve been putting it off for too long because I thought it would be a pain, but it was actually very easy and the sofa looks like new again.
  • Looking forward to this week: The arrival of our Japanese textbooks from Amazon to supplement Rosetta Stone! We’ll be using the Japanese For Busy People series. Brett will get started on learning hiragana and katakana, and I will kick up my studies another notch, including learning more kanji.

    Friday night's 'blue moon' from our front porch

    Friday night’s ‘blue moon’ from our front porch

  • Thankful for: I’ve been feeling very grateful lately for the explosion of natural beauty that always surrounds us here on Kaua’i. Oregon was beautiful, and Portland was very green, but it seemed we often had to get in the car and drive somewhere to take in the natural wonders there, or pay to get in somewhere to see it. We had to go camping in order to see the stars at night. Here the natural world surrounds us and bombards us all the time, from the lush greenery right outside our windows, to the aqua blue surf breaking on the beach, to the zillions of stars filling the pitch black sky at night. Nature just seems to be more up close and accessible here.
  • Bonus question: Do you have any fears or phobias? I am not afraid of much except for heights, and I’ve got acrophobia bad. It is said there are two kinds of people who are afraid of heights: those who are afraid of falling and those who are afraid they will jump. I mainly fall into the first category, thank goodness although I admit to wondering at times what falling would feel like. And, watching other people, especially children, in high places just about causes me to faint. The only bugs I fear these days are centipedes, and I’m not too crazy about frogs and toads either. Snakes are in a category all their own, but thankfully there are no snakes around here.

I hope you are enjoying your Sunday. How is it going? How has your week been?

3 thoughts on “Sunday Afternoon 8/2/2015

  1. Hawaii Planner says:

    My parents are in Hawaii (Maui) and are facing the second hurricane in a row on their annual vacation. I was thinking of you when I heard the news! Hope it passes without event.

    I had a great Sunday – made one of the best pizzas I’ve ever eaten (M says it was *the best* pizza he’d ever eaten). Who can resist a culinary success like that ? 😉 I also got a big work project done this morning, made 3 dozen muffins, prepped 6 meals of taco meat for the freezer, went for a walk (training for Hood to Coast) & read my book for a few minutes. I’m exhausted, but it was a great day.

    Always love reading about your island life – very inspiring! And, on the note of nature & having to drive, totally understand. We’re lucky here, as we have a 4,000 acre nature preserve about 1/2 a mile from our house. It’s our go to weekend running/walking/hiking/biking destination.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      From the most recent maps it looks like the storm will pass right over Maui and Oaho, and over the north side of Kauai. Yikes! Thankfully it will no longer be a hurricane by the time it reaches Hawaii, but will still be packing some pretty strong winds. So, we are preparing ourself as much as possible – all we can do now is wait and see how it progresses. I missed the storm here last year as I was in Japan (although a typhoon brushed by Tokyo while I was there).

      You continue to inspire me with all you get done! I was somewhat that busy back when the girls were young and I was teaching, so understand that when you’re not at work there’s still a lot of work to be done. But you still get a whole lot more done than I ever did. You’re very good though about taking care of yourself – you set a good example.

      What is your pizza recipe? We’ve been making naan bread pizzas yeserday, but I’d love to try something a bit more traditional again.

      Like

  2. Vivian says:

    The rain continues, the weatherman says the Tampa bay area has received between 9″ and 37″ of rain. There is widespread flooding. That is higher than the 23″ from a tropical storm in 2012. Still have to be grateful, the water table will be replenished. The lakes and streams are up and that will mean less chance of wildfires this winter. Small comfort to the people whose homes and cars have been underwater.

    My fears are of the insect variety spiders and roaches. When I was going to school in Virginia I almost drove off the side of the mountain when a spider jumped on me and I took both hands off the wheel to get it off me. We also have gigantic roaches in Florida and I have to get out my steel toed boots to kill them because they scare me. I was burning a big pile of wood and one had climbed up my leg inside by jeans. As soon as I felt it, the pants came off. Good thing I don’t have any close neighbors or they would have gotten an eyeful. I ran inside before i realized that I had to go back and take care of the fire.
    Scary, Scary!

    As always, I love your pictures.

    Hope the storm doesn’t give you any problems.

    Like

Leave a Reply

