Feel Good Friday

It’s been miserably hot and humid here this week, with temperature records broken on a few days, but in spite of the weather it’s still been a pretty darn good week!photo

  • Brett and I had the good fortune to meet a regular blog reader, Julie (and her mom too), at the farmers’ market this week. They are here on vacation and were at the market to shop, and Julie recognized me with my short gray hair and red glasses. We greatly enjoyed chatting with both Julie and her mom before the opening whistle blew!
  • We put $10.95 into the change/$1 bill jar (includes bottle and can recycling refunds). During July we saved $47.22 in change and dollar bills.P1080363
  • Brett and I finished our latest puzzle, and it was a challenge. The picture lulled us into thinking it wouldn’t be too difficult, but boy were we wrong!
  • A vendor was selling beautiful casaba melons at the market this week. Have I told you how much I ♥♥♥ melon of any variety? (The watermelon we bought from him last week was fantastic.)
  • The girls started school successfully yesterday and both got most of the classes they wanted. There may be a couple of changes, but overall it’s all good.
  • Other than our weekly trip to the farmers’ market, it’s been a no-spend week for us.
  • Meiling’s Kickstarter project has reached 250% of its funding goal, and with 12 days still to go is continuing to bring in backers. We are so proud of her!

How is your Friday going? What good things happened for you this past week?

6 thoughts on “Feel Good Friday

  1. Moonwaves says:

    I got up early this morning to fit in an hour of knitting before work and feel much better for it. A nice gentle start to the morning instead of stress and rushing. Turned on Lyric FM (Ireland’s classical station – so glad I can listen over the internet) to accompany me and then quickly got lunch together and cycled to work. It’s a lovely sunny day but not hot yet, and My Favourite Things (from Sound of Music) was the last song that played just before I turned the radio off – what a great earworm to head off to work with. So far, it really is a feel good Friday.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      Sounds like a perfectly wonderful morning! Isn’t it great when everything comes together? It can make the whole day, or the whole week, a better one.

      Like

  2. Vivian says:

    Another beautiful puzzle.

    We finally got a break in the rain yesterday. One family repaired the road where it had washed out but we still have another section that has not been repaired yet. The joys of living on a private road. My tractor doesn’t have a bulldozer implement or I would try and work on it myself.

    In spite of the rain, just a good week. Makes me so happy to be retired.

    Like

    • Laura says:

      I have heard the rain in Florida has been beyond miserable this past week, with several areas practically washing away.

      Retirement is wonderful. I had no idea.

      Like

  3. Jen says:

    You are being recognized in public!! Looks like you had a great week. I really should start taking Feel Good notes during my weeks. So many good things happening all the time, but they get all mixed up with the bad things. So here is off the top of my head:

    ~participated in our neighborhood garage sale and got rid of some things and made some cash
    ~had a nice visit with my mom and my brother, celebrated her birthday
    ~2 sons had No Cavitiities report and good dentist visits
    ~Teenage daughter made a gorgeous peach cobbler
    ~I ran a 6 mile race for fun
    ~I went to Boot Camp twice
    ~Had 2–5-mile beach walks with a friend and her dogs
    ~Ran twice, 5 miles at the beach with a good friend
    ~My husband fixed my son’s door, which had not closed properly since we moved in 4 months ago. Nice to get that fixed.

    Like

  4. Laura says:

    Lots of good things happened for you! And, when you look back on all the good and nice that happened, suddenly it becomes very, very had to remember anything bad that happened.

    I have to admit being very happy these days that we couldn’t pull together enough for a yard sale. I keep a bag in our bedroom for items for the thrift store – we told ourselves that when it gets full we’ll take it down the hill. It’s been there for a year and isn’t even half full.

    And, so much fun meeting a reader in person. I have truly met the nicest people through this blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

