Sunday Afternoon 06/21/2015

It’s Father’s Day! Brett gets up earlier than any of the rest of us, but he patiently waited this morning so the girls and I could make him a special breakfast of a cheese omelet, sausages and whole wheat toast with lilikoi curd. We also gave him a cribbage set – he and I have talked about learning to play as it’s a game that would travel easily with us. I used to play many years ago, but have totally forgotten it all now so we’ll both be on the same learning curve. pic121094 Otherwise it’s been a pretty average week here at Casa Aloha. We’ve gotten things done around the house, run errands, gone to the farmers’ market, etc. – everything it seems but get to the beach. For the most part the weather in our neck of the woods hasn’t cooperated much, and on the one really terrific day Brett did a long hike. Maybe next week. Today I am:

  • Reading: Darn those library deadlines! I started The Sellout last weekend, and then a couple of days into it I got a notice from the library that my loan was ending. Grrrr! I seem to have had the worst luck recently with reserved library downloads arriving at the same time – I just can’t read them all that fast! Lesson learned: reserve just one book at a time, Laura! So, I’m finally back to finishing All The Light We Cannot See, which I started over a month ago before all these library downloads flooded in.
  • Listening to: The breeze through the palm trees, the roosters crowing. The weather can’t make up its mind today other than to be humid no matter what, so I’m just happy for now that there is a breeze
  • Watching: Brett and I are still working our way through Murdoch Mysteries and Rosemary & Thyme, although we’re into the last season of the latter. Next up will be Foyle’s War. Tonight we’re all going to watch The Imitation Game.
  • Cooking/baking: To continue the Father’s Day celebration, I’m fixing one of our favorite family dinners: Thai red curry chicken served with jasmine rice. We brought a few bottles of the Trader Joe’s curry sauce over with us when we moved, and a friend brought us some more, but we ration it for special occasions. The girls are going to bake and frost cupcakes for dessert.
  • Happy I accomplished this past week: I finally went to our credit union and opened up an IRA account so I have somewhere to roll over a (ridiculously) small retirement savings account I will be getting from Oregon this fall on top of my monthly pension. Brett and I have also gotten some more windows cleaned – just a couple more sets to go! Each set has been a genuine chore though – I will be glad when they’re all finished (although we’ll have to start it all again in a few months).
  • Looking forward to next week: I’m greatly anticipating getting together on Wednesday for lunch with two women I met through blogging, Joy and Michelle, who also moved to Kaua’i last year! And, my cousin and her family will also be arriving on Kaua’i this week for a vacation, so we’ll be getting together as well. I haven’t seen my cousin in ages so am pretty excited to see her again and meet her family (she has kids the same age as our girls).

    Some of a recent order from Amazon Prime: coconut milk, rice noodles, gnocchi, organic shredded coconut and some tomato paste. It was paid for with a gift card earned through Swagbucks.

    Some of a recent order from Amazon Prime: fig bars, organic coconut milk, rice noodles, gnocchi, organic shredded coconut and a tube of tomato paste. It was all paid for with a gift card earned through Swagbucks!

  • Thankful for: There are not words to express how thankful I am for all that Brett is and has done as a husband and father. Although he grew up with an abusive father, he has worked hard to change that legacy and been an exemplary husband and a loving father. Also, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I am grateful for Amazon Prime and their free shipping! There are many things our family eats and uses that are either unavailable or unaffordable here that we are still able to get at a very reasonable cost because of Amazon Prime. We more than get our money back on the annual fee.

    Grass-fed, locally-raised beef burger on a homemade bun with Kaua'i grown lettuce, tomato and onion with a side of Hawaiian-style mac salad.

    Grass-fed, locally-raised beef burger on a homemade bun with Kaua’i grown lettuce, tomato and onion and a side of Hawaiian-style mac salad.

  • Bonus question of the week: What do you splurge on? Cleaning products! I could make my own, or buy something cheaper and save, but I really, really like the Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day products (especially the lemon verbena scent) so I will pay more for them. I am also willing to spend a little more for locally raised or grown food, and will pay a little more for organic if the price is not too out there.

How was your week? Hope it was a great one!

Leave a Reply

